When is vBulletin going to support auto update?

Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • acdsystems
    • Oct 2013
    • 5.0.X

When is vBulletin going to support auto update?

It's getting a little bit ridiculous. V 5.1.9 Patch Level 3 ?? .

I'm a sysadmin and am constantly wasting time uploading update files to our forum server as I don't want to risk us being vulnerable to the next big exploit..

At the very least we should have the ability to enable auto update for small security patches like these, or the option to just click a button on the admin control panel which just says "Update Now"

I feel like Vbulletin is falling behind. Look at other PHP based systems like Wordpress.. You can update them at the click of a button.

/Rant
  • William Thomas Jr
    • Nov 2014
    • 5.1.x

I'd much prefer to upload the patch manually.

Comment

• IggyP
      • Mar 2012

the patches are easy, takes perhaps one minute to upload and no script to run...id much rather see devs focus on functionality issues

Comment

• acdsystems
        • Oct 2013
        • 5.0.X

Yeah they are easy, and It does not take me much time to do I agree with that.

But Perhaps it get's left a few hours or days? It means that the forum could potentially be vulnerable until the update is manually installed. I must not be the only one who would enjoy this feature?

Comment

• William Thomas Jr
          • Nov 2014
          • 5.1.x

Originally posted by acdsystems
          Yeah they are easy, and It does not take me much time to do I agree with that.

But Perhaps it get's left a few hours or days? It means that the forum could potentially be vulnerable until the update is manually installed. I must not be the only one who would enjoy this feature?