can't register - i truly hope this isn't a bug

Collapse
X
 
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts
  • m0rgulvale
    Senior Member
    • Jun 2008
    • 240

    can't register - i truly hope this isn't a bug

    so it appears amazingly (yes i find this hard to believe), there is a bug that you can't register in a mobile app when the forum has image verification on. this is a bug i honestly can't understand how the app can be released with since most forums are going to rely on some type of verification to prevent spam.


    unknown error in server response, error code = humanverify_image_wronganswer


    how is this type of thing not tested before releasing the app? i am truly hoping this isn't a bug and its just me missing something... forum "registration" is a fundamental thing. it needs to work on forums.

    is this truly a bug or am i just missing something dumb on my end?

    i am not trying to be negative. i simply expect very basic things to "work". is that too much to ask?

    please advise
    Last edited by m0rgulvale; Sun 29 May '11, 1:46am.
  • m0rgulvale
    Senior Member
    • Jun 2008
    • 240

    #2
    is this issue being prioritized? this is about as bad as a bug that it is possible to have. i don't see why apple would even approve an app where you can't register. in fact if i was reviewing my own app i would deny it.

    i expect 1 or 2 day turnaround to fix critical bugs like this (quality control testing should prevent these problems every single time though)

    lets focus our priorities on fixing and preventing bugs, not creating new features.

    usability is the #1 importance

    thanks

    Comment

    • 6impy
      Senior Member
      • Dec 2000
      • 144

      #3
      The issue has been FIXED!

      All you have to do is add one line of code to an API plugin.

      See: http://tracker.vbulletin.com/browse/...#action_113597

      Comment

      • IBxAnders
        Senior Member
        • Aug 2001
        • 1172
        • 4.0.x

        #4
        Morguvale - are you using the latest version of the mobile product on your site?
        anders | vbulletin team | check out the new vbulletin facebook app
        Proudly vBulletin'ing since 2001
        Please be my friend!
        http://www.twitter.com/inetskunkworks
        vBulletin Performance Articles:
        Click here to read

        Comment

        • SteveLV702
          Senior Member
          • Aug 2009
          • 1466

          #5
          weird I go into Plugin Manager and no plugin for API so I am unable to do that fix 6impy I am running 4.1.3
          ------------------------------------------
          Steve
          DM Mobile Lite (iTunes)(Android)(Blackberry)
          CN Mobile Lite (iTunes)(Android)(Blackberry)
          TheFaFClan Mobile Lite (iTunes)(Android)(Blackberry)
          Audi Spirit Mobile Lite (iTunes)(Android)(Blackberry)

          Comment

          • m0rgulvale
            Senior Member
            • Jun 2008
            • 240

            #6
            hi yes i have the latest version. i want to avoid patching individual lines of code and wait for an official update tothe API to be released . using vb3.8.7 here

            Comment

            • 6impy
              Senior Member
              • Dec 2000
              • 144

              #7
              Originally posted by m0rgulvale
              hi yes i have the latest version. i want to avoid patching individual lines of code and wait for an official update tothe API to be released . using vb3.8.7 here
              It's one line and will take you 5 seconds. Trust me, it's worth it.

              Comment

              • m0rgulvale
                Senior Member
                • Jun 2008
                • 240

                #8
                k ill prob add it then. however i generally like to avoid doing these 1 offs b/c they add up over time and impossible to manage everything. ill give it a shot for now checking the bug page

                Comment

                • m0rgulvale
                  Senior Member
                  • Jun 2008
                  • 240

                  #9
                  @6impy, i read but not understanding exactly what to do



                  is there php file to patch here? what exact steps to fix the problem

                  thx

                  Comment

                  • worried
                    Senior Member
                    • Dec 2008
                    • 684
                    • 4.2.X

                    #10
                    Originally posted by m0rgulvale
                    @6impy, i read but not understanding exactly what to do



                    is there php file to patch here? what exact steps to fix the problem

                    thx
                    Looks like you're editing a plugin called "API Startup."

                    Code:
                    if (!defined('VB_API'))
                    { define('VB_API', false); }
                    
                    require_once(DIR . '/includes/api/class_core_ext.php');
                    require_once(DIR . '/includes/api/functions_api.php');
                    
                    if (VB_API === true)
                    {
                    // API disabled
                    if (!$vbulletin->options['enableapi'] OR !$vbulletin->options['apikey'])
                    { print_apierror('api_disabled', 'API is disabled'); }
                    
                    define('NOCOOKIES', true);
                    
                    $vbulletin->input =& new vB_Input_Cleaner_API($vbulletin);
                    
                    // #############################################################################
                    // VB API Request Signature Verification
                    global $VB_API_PARAMS_TO_VERIFY, $VB_API_REQUESTS;
                    
                    if ($VB_API_REQUESTS['api_c'])
                    {
                    // Get client information from api_c. api_c has been intvaled in api.php
                    $client = $db->query_first("SELECT *
                    FROM " . TABLE_PREFIX . "apiclient
                    WHERE apiclientid = $VB_API_REQUESTS[api_c]");
                    
                    if (!$client)
                    { print_apierror('invalid_clientid', 'Invalid Client ID'); }
                    
                    // An accesstoken is passed but invalid
                    if ($VB_API_REQUESTS['api_s'] AND $VB_API_REQUESTS['api_s'] != $client['apiaccesstoken'])
                    { print_apierror('invalid_accesstoken', 'Invalid Access Token'); }
                    
                    $signtoverify = md5(http_build_query($VB_API_PARAMS_TO_VERIFY, '', '&') . $VB_API_REQUESTS['api_s'] . $client['apiclientid'] . $client['secret'] . $vbulletin->options['apikey']);
                    $vbulletin->input->clean_array_gpc('r', array(
                    'debug' => TYPE_BOOL,
                    ));
                    if ($VB_API_REQUESTS['api_sig'] !== $signtoverify AND !($vbulletin->debug AND $vbulletin->GPC['debug']))
                    { print_apierror('invalid_api_signature', 'Invalid API Signature'); }
                    
                    else
                    { $vbulletin->apiclient = $client; }
                    
                    if ($vbulletin->options['enableapilog'])
                    { $db->query_write(" INSERT INTO " . TABLE_PREFIX . "apilog (apiclientid, method, paramget, parampost, ipaddress, dateline) VALUES ( $VB_API_REQUESTS[api_c], '" . $db->escape_string($VB_API_REQUESTS['api_m']) . "', '" . $db->escape_string(serialize($_GET)) . "', '" . (($vbulletin->options['apilogpostparam'])?$db->escape_string(serialize($_POST)):'') . "', '" . $db->escape_string(IPADDRESS) . "', '" . TIMENOW . "' ) "); }
                    
                    // TODO: Disable human verification in this release. enabled it when release API to public
                    $vbulletin->options['hvcheck_registration'] = 0;
                    $vbulletin->options['hvcheck_post'] = 0;
                    $vbulletin->options['hvcheck_search'] = 0;
                    $vbulletin->options['hvcheck_contactus'] = 0;
                    $vbulletin->options['hvcheck_lostpw'] = 0;
                    }
                    // api_init is a special method that is able to generate new client info.
                    elseif ($VB_API_REQUESTS['api_m'] != 'api_init')
                    { print_apierror('missing_api_signature', 'Missing API Signature'); }
                    
                    // #############################################################################
                    // Force sessionhash, cookieuserid, cookiepassword empty so that in init.php
                    // $vbulletin->userinfo['userid'] is always 0. Thus we can skip CSRF protection
                    unset($vbulletin->GPC['s'], $vbulletin->GPC[COOKIE_PREFIX . 'sessionhash'],
                    $vbulletin->GPC[COOKIE_PREFIX . 'userid'], $vbulletin->GPC[COOKIE_PREFIX . 'password']);
                    define('SKIP_REFERRER_CHECK', true);
                    }
                    This adds line

                    $vbulletin->options['hv_type'] = 0;

                    below

                    $vbulletin->options['hvcheck_lostpw'] = 0;

                    Comment

                    • m0rgulvale
                      Senior Member
                      • Jun 2008
                      • 240

                      #11
                      yaeh i saw that , but what specific file is that data in?

                      Comment

                      • worried
                        Senior Member
                        • Dec 2008
                        • 684
                        • 4.2.X

                        #12
                        I think this is for vB 3 under plugins.

                        Comment

                        • MikesSite
                          Senior Member
                          • Jan 2009
                          • 173
                          • 3.8.x

                          #13
                          Were you able to figure it out m0rg?

                          Comment

                          • m0rgulvale
                            Senior Member
                            • Jun 2008
                            • 240

                            #14
                            didn't find it. still want to wait for an official update from vB. things that need to get fixed ASAP would be this, and the bug where members can't access password protected forum areas on iphone.

                            Comment

                            • 6impy
                              Senior Member
                              • Dec 2000
                              • 144

                              #15
                              Originally posted by m0rgulvale
                              didn't find it. still want to wait for an official update from vB. things that need to get fixed ASAP would be this, and the bug where members can't access password protected forum areas on iphone.
                              Open up your forum's Admin Control Panel.

                              On the left menu, scroll down to the bottom and click "Plugins & Products"

                              When that menu expands, click "Plugin Manager"

                              In your browser, click CTRL-F (or COMMaND-F on Mac) to do a search within the page.

                              Type "API Startup" and click Search

                              Click [Edit] link on far right for the API Startup plugin.

                              Then look for
                              "$vbulletin->options['hvcheck_lostpw'] = 0;"

                              and below that add
                              $vbulletin->options['hv_type'] = 0;

                              It's about 20ish lines from the bottom of the file.

                              I understand your frustration, but this is an easy fix that anyone can do. Just do it and the update will come soon...

                              Comment

                              widgetinstance 262 (Related Topics) skipped due to lack of content & hide_module_if_empty option.
                              Working...