How to Alert and Redirect users to Mobile App

Collapse
X
 
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts
  • SteveLV702
    Senior Member
    • Aug 2009
    • 1466

    How to Alert and Redirect users to Mobile App

    Here are instructions on how to display an alert on your users phone when they attempt to browse your site from their phones browser.

    open up the "header" template and at the very bottom add this code:

    Code:
    <body onload="iPhoneAlert( );">
    then open up "headinclude" template and at the very bottom add this code:

    Code:
    <script type="text/javascript">
    function iPhoneAlert( )
    {
    if ( navigator.userAgent.match(/iPhone/i) || navigator.userAgent.match(/iPod/i) )
    {
    var qes* *= confirm( "This forum has an iPhone app! Click OK to learn more about Digital Mayhem Mobile for iPhone." );
    if ( qes )
    window.location* *= "http://dmlinks.us/DMMobile-iOS";
    }
    else if ( navigator.userAgent.match(/Android/i) )
    {
    var qes* *= confirm( "This forum has an Android app! Click OK to learn more about Digital Mayhem Mobile for Android." );
    if ( qes )
    window.location* *= "market://details?id=com.vbulletin.build_113";
    }
    }
    </script>
    of course replacing Digital Mayhem Mobile with the name of your App and the links with the links of your App Store and Android Market links...


    **NOTE** I am trying to find a better file to put the code that loads first because atleast on all of my sites from both iPhone & Android practically the entire site loads before the message is displayed and user redirected.

    **Maybe vBulletin will make this a sticky**




    ***UPDATED July 7, 2012*** With the future release of iOS 6 this Fall you can add "SmartApp Banners" to your site example running on my sites below.

    Click image for larger version

Name:	2012-07-06 16.23.26.jpg
Views:	4
Size:	64.4 KB
ID:	3724003Click image for larger version

Name:	2012-07-06 16.20.17.jpg
Views:	4
Size:	65.4 KB
ID:	3724004Click image for larger version

Name:	2012-07-06 16.16.43.jpg
Views:	4
Size:	63.6 KB
ID:	3724005Click image for larger version

Name:	2012-07-06 16.14.06.jpg
Views:	4
Size:	67.0 KB
ID:	3724006Click image for larger version

Name:	2012-07-06 16.13.28.jpg
Views:	4
Size:	60.2 KB
ID:	3724007

    To acquire this on your site just add one simple line of code I added it to the very very top of the headerinclude template

    <meta name="apple-itunes-app" content="app-id=XXXXXXXX">

    Replace the XXXXXXXXX with your apps actual App ID.
    Last edited by SteveLV702; Sat 7 Jul '12, 9:57am.
    ------------------------------------------
    Steve
    DM Mobile Lite (iTunes)(Android)(Blackberry)
    CN Mobile Lite (iTunes)(Android)(Blackberry)
    TheFaFClan Mobile Lite (iTunes)(Android)(Blackberry)
    Audi Spirit Mobile Lite (iTunes)(Android)(Blackberry)
  • CEO254
    Senior Member
    • Jan 2008
    • 221
    • 4.1.x

    #2
    Awesome, thanks for this!
    <signature removed by staff>

    Comment

    • CEO254
      Senior Member
      • Jan 2008
      • 221
      • 4.1.x

      #3
      Well, I was finally able to add the code to my templates, but it's not working.
      <signature removed by staff>

      Comment

      • dnk.it
        Member
        • Aug 2009
        • 61
        • 3.8.x

        #4
        will try later, thanks Steve

        Comment

        • Mihalis
          Member
          • Nov 2008
          • 69

          #5
          Not working for me either.

          Comment

          • SteveLV702
            Senior Member
            • Aug 2009
            • 1466

            #6
            weird works in mine... if you wanna PM me I can take a look I noticed someone else that copied and pasted it for some reason didn't copy and past right so some breakage somewhere I was able to fix it in a matter of seconds...
            ------------------------------------------
            Steve
            DM Mobile Lite (iTunes)(Android)(Blackberry)
            CN Mobile Lite (iTunes)(Android)(Blackberry)
            TheFaFClan Mobile Lite (iTunes)(Android)(Blackberry)
            Audi Spirit Mobile Lite (iTunes)(Android)(Blackberry)

            Comment

            • CEO254
              Senior Member
              • Jan 2008
              • 221
              • 4.1.x

              #7
              I copied and pasted it perfectly. Are we putting this in he right spots? Perhaps you left out some code?
              <signature removed by staff>

              Comment

              • SteveLV702
                Senior Member
                • Aug 2009
                • 1466

                #8
                okay I have this code in the "header" at the very very bottom of the code

                Code:
                <body onload="iPhoneAlert( );">
                and this code in the 'headinclude" again at the very very bottom of the existing code:

                Code:
                <script type="text/javascript">
                function iPhoneAlert( )
                {
                if ( navigator.userAgent.match(/iPhone/i) || navigator.userAgent.match(/iPod/i) )
                {
                var qes   = confirm( "This forum has an iPhone app! Click OK to learn more about Digital Mayhem Mobile for iPhone." );
                if ( qes )
                window.location   = "http://dmlinks.us/DMMobile-iOS";
                }
                else if ( navigator.userAgent.match(/Android/i) )
                {
                var qes   = confirm( "This forum has an Android app! Click OK to learn more about Digital Mayhem Mobile for Android." );
                if ( qes )
                window.location   = "market://details?id=com.vbulletin.build_113";
                }
                }
                </script>
                ------------------------------------------
                Steve
                DM Mobile Lite (iTunes)(Android)(Blackberry)
                CN Mobile Lite (iTunes)(Android)(Blackberry)
                TheFaFClan Mobile Lite (iTunes)(Android)(Blackberry)
                Audi Spirit Mobile Lite (iTunes)(Android)(Blackberry)

                Comment

                • CEO254
                  Senior Member
                  • Jan 2008
                  • 221
                  • 4.1.x

                  #9
                  It works now!

                  Thanks!!!
                  <signature removed by staff>

                  Comment

                  • SteveLV702
                    Senior Member
                    • Aug 2009
                    • 1466

                    #10
                    Originally posted by CEO254
                    It works now!

                    Thanks!!!
                    Great
                    ------------------------------------------
                    Steve
                    DM Mobile Lite (iTunes)(Android)(Blackberry)
                    CN Mobile Lite (iTunes)(Android)(Blackberry)
                    TheFaFClan Mobile Lite (iTunes)(Android)(Blackberry)
                    Audi Spirit Mobile Lite (iTunes)(Android)(Blackberry)

                    Comment

                    • Mihalis
                      Member
                      • Nov 2008
                      • 69

                      #11
                      Yep now it works for me too! It seems that those stars in your code was the problem.

                      Comment

                      • SteveLV702
                        Senior Member
                        • Aug 2009
                        • 1466

                        #12
                        hmm weird dont know why even posted those stars
                        ------------------------------------------
                        Steve
                        DM Mobile Lite (iTunes)(Android)(Blackberry)
                        CN Mobile Lite (iTunes)(Android)(Blackberry)
                        TheFaFClan Mobile Lite (iTunes)(Android)(Blackberry)
                        Audi Spirit Mobile Lite (iTunes)(Android)(Blackberry)

                        Comment

                        • Mihalis
                          Member
                          • Nov 2008
                          • 69

                          #13
                          I guess your mod got "rated" by itself as awesome!

                          Comment

                          • killer_t
                            New Member
                            • Dec 2010
                            • 9
                            • 4.0.x

                            #14
                            But it asks every time you perform a refresh!!

                            Comment

                            • Jasper Aguila
                              Senior Member
                              • Aug 2010
                              • 364
                              • 4.1.x

                              #15
                              Thank you Steve. I promoted this post to article!

                              Comment

                              widgetinstance 262 (Related Topics) skipped due to lack of content & hide_module_if_empty option.
                              Working...