Imports from old forum. Open or closed threads?

Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • jola
    • Nov 2008

Imports from old forum. Open or closed threads?

I need some advice. Should messages imported from a large and old forum be imported as open or closed threads?

To give you some background I have been running another forum software (webbbs) for more than 10 years. In my old forum old messages were manually moved to archives for every year. Once a message was archived it was not possible to reply to it anymore. I am now importing all the messages from my old forum, both old archived threads from previous years and the active messages into the same new vBulletin forum. I am hesitant if I should import all the messages into open threads or if I should try to set some date after which the threads should be closed.

What would you recommend?
  • Jerry
    • Dec 2002
    • 1.1.x

I can't see anything technical for or against, more of a question of how do you want to manage your site and it's content.

You can always close the Forum after the import to stop any more posts, or just leave it open, and see if you get much thread necromancy.
    I wrote ImpEx.

Blog | Me

Comment

• jola
      • Nov 2008