Double Posting Problem again

Collapse
X
 
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts
  • slinky
    Senior Member
    • Mar 2001
    • 3113
    • 1.1.x

    Double Posting Problem again

    I remembered not upgrading to PHP 5.4 because vBulletin 4 would double post. I was told this was fixed. However I'm getting massive double posting issues again and I also had to suppress PHP errors as a result of there being other errors that were supposedly fixed but don't seem to be, such as in search.php. The threads are below and I'm using the latest version of vBulletin. Thanks.

    I am getting an error in this section of my Admin CP since upgrading. Please could anyone assist? Warning: Declaration of vBForum_Item_SocialGroupMessage::getLoadQuery() should be compatible with

    Just setup vb4 and now I get this warning at search.php Warning: Declaration of vBForum_Item_SocialGroupMessage::getLoadQuery() should be compatible with vB_Model::getLoadQuery($required_query = '',

    My law forum, lawyers and legal help site
  • Mark.B
    vBulletin Support
    • Feb 2004
    • 24286
    • 6.0.X

    #2
    Assuming you are running 4.2.2.....Have you done this?

    Add the following line to your /includes/config.php file, right under the <?php line:
    PHP Code:
    define('SKIP_DS_ERRORS'true); 
    MARK.B
    vBulletin Support
    ------------
    My Unofficial vBulletin 6.0.0 Demo: https://www.talknewsuk.com
    My Unofficial vBulletin Cloud Demo: https://www.adminammo.com

    Comment

    • slinky
      Senior Member
      • Mar 2001
      • 3113
      • 1.1.x

      #3
      I just added that 10 minutes ago and saw it -- but with this prevent double posting or will it just suppress error messages?
      My law forum, lawyers and legal help site

      Comment

      • Mark.B
        vBulletin Support
        • Feb 2004
        • 24286
        • 6.0.X

        #4
        Originally posted by slinky
        I just added that 10 minutes ago and saw it -- but with this prevent double posting or will it just suppress error messages?
        It restores the original behaviour of vBulletin from version 4.2.1 right back to 3.0.0, which is to suppress php warnings and notices (not errors).
        These warnings and notices should not be output on a production server in the first place. If they are, they don't stop the execution of the script (since they are not errors), but they can mess up some Ajax functionality - which can include double posting.
        MARK.B
        vBulletin Support
        ------------
        My Unofficial vBulletin 6.0.0 Demo: https://www.talknewsuk.com
        My Unofficial vBulletin Cloud Demo: https://www.adminammo.com

        Comment

        • slinky
          Senior Member
          • Mar 2001
          • 3113
          • 1.1.x

          #5
          OK - thanks. I guess we'll see if it works, right?
          My law forum, lawyers and legal help site

          Comment

          • slinky
            Senior Member
            • Mar 2001
            • 3113
            • 1.1.x

            #6
            Nope - not working. And I'm finding that posts are suddenly "getting stuck." I'll reply and then I'll get a blank page. I'll back out and go to the thread and see that there is a double post. happens very often and it is just out of the blue. Nothing I can recall doing. I think I may have added an extra PHP addon but it is unrelated and standard plugins that come with any CPanel installation and shouldn't affect the workings of vBulletin 4.
            My law forum, lawyers and legal help site

            Comment

            • Mark.B
              vBulletin Support
              • Feb 2004
              • 24286
              • 6.0.X

              #7
              Worth trying this:

              In /includes/class_core.php locate lines 5683-5685
              Code:
              case E_NOTICE:
              // Just ignore these completely //
              break;
              Change to this
              Code:
              case E_NOTICE:
              case E_STRICT;
              case E_DEPRECATED;
              // Just ignore these completely //
              break;
              MARK.B
              vBulletin Support
              ------------
              My Unofficial vBulletin 6.0.0 Demo: https://www.talknewsuk.com
              My Unofficial vBulletin Cloud Demo: https://www.adminammo.com

              Comment

              • slinky
                Senior Member
                • Mar 2001
                • 3113
                • 1.1.x

                #8
                Thanks Mark - nothing worked except to downgrade PHP back to 5.3. I had intermittent issues with PHP 5.4 that cropped up and this is the only remedy that worked for now. I'll need to move to PHP 5.4 shortly so it looks like we're going to have to take some drastic measures. Thanks.
                My law forum, lawyers and legal help site

                Comment

                • Paul M
                  Former Lead Developer
                  vB.Com & vB.Org
                  • Sep 2004
                  • 9886

                  #9
                  Originally posted by Mark.B
                  Worth trying this:

                  In /includes/class_core.php locate lines 5683-5685
                  Code:
                  case E_NOTICE:
                  // Just ignore these completely //
                  break;
                  Change to this
                  Code:
                  case E_NOTICE:
                  case E_STRICT;
                  case E_DEPRECATED;
                  // Just ignore these completely //
                  break;
                  That is completely unnecessary, its just a harder way to do the same as SKIP_DS_ERRORS.


                  Double posting when using QR would indicate an error upsetting ajax.
                  You could easily check this if its repeatable, by using firefox (or IE) to monitor the server ajax response.

                  BTW, you didnt say what version of vB4 you were using with php 5.4 - there are some minor fixes that only made it to 4.2.3.
                  Baby, I was born this way

                  Comment

                  • slinky
                    Senior Member
                    • Mar 2001
                    • 3113
                    • 1.1.x

                    #10
                    I disabled ajax and that seems to be working. Not a great fix but at least it's working. Good catch Paul - just looked and it's 4.2.2b4. Perhaps the update may help. Thanks.
                    My law forum, lawyers and legal help site

                    Comment

                    widgetinstance 262 (Related Topics) skipped due to lack of content & hide_module_if_empty option.
                    Working...