Error_log file just grow up

Collapse
X
 
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts
  • Mark.B
    vBulletin Support
    • Feb 2004
    • 24286
    • 6.0.X

    #31
    Originally posted by kemraj


    Hey mark tell me if something just for clarification, when updating to the latest version (4.2.3 beta 4) i did an www.testsite.com/install/upgrade.php .So even if i did that their were no database changes right?, so i can safely downgrade to the previous version because its only template changes
    As far as I am aware there were no database or template changes in Beta 4, it was just file changes.
    It's not technically a downgrade as your version will stay Beta 4, but it may work as a temporary workaround until we get a response to the bug report.
    However, as I mentioned - back up your database first, just in case.
    MARK.B
    vBulletin Support
    ------------
    My Unofficial vBulletin 6.0.0 Demo: https://www.talknewsuk.com
    My Unofficial vBulletin Cloud Demo: https://www.adminammo.com

    Comment

    • bosss
      Senior Member
      • Jan 2008
      • 220

      #32
      You mean we can just upload vb 4.2.3 beta 3 files over beta 4 files (and allow overwrite)? where i can get beta 3 files? (have not on my pc)

      regards

      bosss
      Welcome to Libar

      Comment

      • Mark.B
        vBulletin Support
        • Feb 2004
        • 24286
        • 6.0.X

        #33
        If you've not still got them then you can't go down that road, as they aren't available in the members area any more, only the latest betas are.
        MARK.B
        vBulletin Support
        ------------
        My Unofficial vBulletin 6.0.0 Demo: https://www.talknewsuk.com
        My Unofficial vBulletin Cloud Demo: https://www.adminammo.com

        Comment

        • kemraj
          Member
          • Aug 2014
          • 68
          • 4.2.X

          #34
          Originally posted by Mark.B
          As far as I am aware there were no database or template changes in Beta 4, it was just file changes.
          It's not technically a downgrade as your version will stay Beta 4, but it may work as a temporary workaround until we get a response to the bug report.
          However, as I mentioned - back up your database first, just in case.
          Yes I think their is one template file changed , I think its show thread because it asked me to revert the template after the update.

          Comment

          • kemraj
            Member
            • Aug 2014
            • 68
            • 4.2.X

            #35
            Btw i have the old version 4.2.3 beta 3 if its permitted for me to list it here.

            Comment

            • Mark.B
              vBulletin Support
              • Feb 2004
              • 24286
              • 6.0.X

              #36
              No it's not possible to share files with other mebers - the files are personalised with your license details.

              We will need to wait for the developers to investigate the bug report and report back.
              MARK.B
              vBulletin Support
              ------------
              My Unofficial vBulletin 6.0.0 Demo: https://www.talknewsuk.com
              My Unofficial vBulletin Cloud Demo: https://www.adminammo.com

              Comment

              • bosss
                Senior Member
                • Jan 2008
                • 220

                #37
                I see that developers made some reports but do not understand what we must do? Comment out some line in class_core.php file? For now i disabled in php.ini error log.

                regards
                bosss
                Welcome to Libar

                Comment

                • Mark.B
                  vBulletin Support
                  • Feb 2004
                  • 24286
                  • 6.0.X

                  #38
                  Originally posted by bosss
                  I see that developers made some reports but do not understand what we must do? Comment out some line in class_core.php file? For now i disabled in php.ini error log.

                  regards
                  bosss
                  Yes, there's a line in /includes/class_core.php that can be commented out. You just add '//' (without quotes) to the front of the line.

                  If you need help with it, raise a support ticket for my attention with ftp details, and I'lll make the change for you.
                  MARK.B
                  vBulletin Support
                  ------------
                  My Unofficial vBulletin 6.0.0 Demo: https://www.talknewsuk.com
                  My Unofficial vBulletin Cloud Demo: https://www.adminammo.com

                  Comment

                  • bosss
                    Senior Member
                    • Jan 2008
                    • 220

                    #39
                    Thanks for response Mark. B and i hope that i can fix myself. Should be fine to now content of this line because i use some Paul's mod (IP proxy) what need some changes in class_core.php and sure my lines are not the same what developers wrote.

                    regards

                    bosss
                    Welcome to Libar

                    Comment

                    • bosss
                      Senior Member
                      • Jan 2008
                      • 220

                      #40
                      Is it this line what we must comment out in class_core.php file ?

                      PHP Code:
                      error_log("VB PHP Error: $errstr in $errfile on line $errline"); 
                      After that we can enable in php.ini - error log =ON ?

                      regards

                      bosss
                      Welcome to Libar

                      Comment

                      • Chris-777
                        Senior Member
                        • Jan 2006
                        • 312
                        • 5.6.4

                        #41
                        Chiming in - also having this issue. error_log is gigantic and constantly growing for me.
                        http://www.metalmusicians.org

                        Comment

                        • ZeroHour
                          Senior Member
                          • Sep 2007
                          • 167

                          #42
                          I just patched the code myself, took about 60 minutes to go through and fix the errors.

                          Comment

                          • kemraj
                            Member
                            • Aug 2014
                            • 68
                            • 4.2.X

                            #43
                            Originally posted by ZeroHour
                            I just patched the code myself, took about 60 minutes to go through and fix the errors.
                            What did you do to patch the code to fix the errors, can you explain it to us maybe you will be even be doing the vbulletin developers work for them.

                            Comment

                            • kh99
                              Senior Member
                              • Aug 2009
                              • 533

                              #44
                              If I were you I would not waste my time fixing the code. It's not necessary, and if you do, when the next version (or beta) is released you'll have a problem keeping your changes. Just comment out line 5711 in class_core.php, the line bosss posted above, as suggested by Paul M in the issue comments: http://tracker.vbulletin.com/browse/VBIV-16079
                              Last edited by kh99; Tue 31 Mar '15, 9:53am.

                              Comment

                              • Wayne Luke
                                vBulletin Technical Support Lead
                                • Aug 2000
                                • 73981

                                #45
                                Commenting out that line would keep the lines from being reported.

                                A better fix would be:
                                Code:
                                if ($vbulletin->debug) { error_log("VB PHP Error: $errstr in $errfile on line $errline");  }
                                Then you can see the issues in debug mode to track down real issues.
                                Translations provided by Google.

                                Wayne Luke
                                The Rabid Badger - a vBulletin Cloud demonstration site.
                                vBulletin 5 API

                                Comment

                                Related Topics

                                Collapse

                                Working...