• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • BlueBelle
    • Oct 2010
    • 4.0.x

decreasing size of database

Hi,

I am not technical enough to be running a vbulletin page, I know that. I am trying to move hosts right now and our database is 650 MB. I need to get it down to 250 MB.

I have googled what to do and I see one easy fix is move attachments from the database to file system. Great! I tried to do that, created a folder on my file structure called attachments, using my cpanel. I changed the permissions on the folder, they are all open. Then I tried to run the move function in my admin panel on my vb webpage and I get that the files can't get moved. Perhaps I am putting the path wrong? Would it be /attachments? Do I put my whole webpage like /webpage.ca/attachments?

Then adminlog sql table is very large, what's in there? Can I make that smaller? The searchcore_text is also 255 MB on it's own. Why is that so big? How can I shrink that?

Yesterday I deleted about 90 pages of threads and lots and lots of attachments. We went from nearly 100 pages down to 11 hoping to make a difference.

I'm really lost and frustrated and don't know where to start. I need someone to talk to me like I'm five and help me out if possible.

We are trying to move off of our current host who went from charging us $108 for 2 years to $250. We are just a small discussion board and can't afford that kind of increase. I am trying to move to another host who is charging $122/3 years and who does all software upgrades and updates, so I really want to make this work. I have to do whatever I can do by Friday.

Thanks so much!
  • donald1234
    • Oct 2011
    • 4.1.x

First thing I would say is never buy a 3 year hosting deal unless he is maybe your uncle or something. Do hosts offer these long term deals then give you a hard time in the hope you will move on? Monthly payments, I find keep them on their toes.