Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • gajinoz
    • Oct 2011

[Forum] Upgrading to 4.1.8

I'm trying to come to grips with how this upgrade process works.

Apparently I have to upload the entire upload folder, minus install.php, and then run upgrade.php

OK, no problem there but what actually happens? Does it copy the newer files to my existing 4.1.7 file structure or what? Do I delete the upload folder after that? I've never done an upgrade before so could somebody explain to me how this works please. The directions in the downloaded zip file were not that great.

Thanks.
  • Trevor Hannant
    vBulletin Support
    • Aug 2002
    • 5.7.X

Upload the contents of the upload folder (except install/install.php and includes/config.php.new) to your forum root directory, overwriting all the files currently there. Then run the upgrade script.
    Vote for:

- Admin Settable Paid Subscription Reminder Timeframe (vB6)
    - Add Admin ability to auto-subscribe users to specific channel(s) (vB6)

Comment

• BirdOPrey5
      • Jul 2008

Not to make this more confusing but you may also want to exlcude your /images/smilies/ directory from the upload as people often customize the smilies and you don't want to overwrite your existing smilies with the default vBulletin ones.

On the plus side you don't really have to worry about install.php or config.php.new. Although it is best to remove them the forum will remind you to delete install.php if you haven't and config.php.new isn't any type of risk, it's just uncessary- not the end of the world if you upload it.

Comment

• gajinoz
        • Oct 2011

Originally posted by Trevor Hannant
        Upload the contents of the upload folder (except install/install.php and includes/config.php.new) to your forum root directory, overwriting all the files currently there. Then run the upgrade script.