Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • KC Weirdwolf
    • Apr 2006

[Forum] Installing 4.1.7 Patch level 1

I am new to 4.1.7 and have never had to install any updates. We have a number of image customizations and so forth that I don't want to have messed up. Where can I find the steps to installing the patch and do I need to worry about it making changes to my current configuration?
  • Zaggeh
    • Oct 2011
    • 4.1.x

This was the first patch for me too, and it was a little confusing at first (Mostly just FINDING it, as at first all I saw was the full download).

To answer your question about where. Log into the member's area (Customer Login at vbulletin.com and then on the left you should see Patches/Security Patches under Support Services. That should bring up a page with a ton of patches, the one at the top, "Security patch: 4.1.7 Suite PL1" (may vary depending on your exact license, as I have the "suite"), is the one you need.

To install, extract it and upload the full contents of the archive to your base vbulletin directory on your web server. That's it.

As for worrying about it making changes to your current configuration, I'm not qualified to answer that. Worked fine for me, but I don't have any customizations/mods, just basic settings and styelvar changes. If you have a heavily modified forum (stuff from vbulletin.org), then you probably have more to be concerned about. If all of your "image customizations" are done through stylevars, I don't think you'd have anything to worry about...
    Last edited by Zaggeh; Tue 1 Nov '11, 7:05am.
    Using vBulletin 4.x Publishing Suite at Clylla Game & Guild Portal

Comment

• Videx
      • Jan 2007

Thanks for that pointer to the specific file. VB team, please take note that in your announcement nobody ever said which file was the patch file out of the dozens on that page. It may be obvious to you, but we're not mind readers. A file name would have helped.

Comment

• BirdOPrey5
        • Jul 2008