Widget Image Filepath not recognised?

Collapse
X
 
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts
  • Greeksgal
    Senior Member
    • Jul 2006
    • 215
    • 4.0.0

    Widget Image Filepath not recognised?

    I wanted a clickable image in a widget, so I set up a new folder on the FTP inside the /images folder called "adverts" and uploaded "imagename.jpg" to it. I added the html to the widget as follows -

    Code:
    <center><a href="http://www.linktosite.com" target="_blank">
     <img src="forum/images/adverts/imagename.jpg" />
    </a>
    </center>
    The image does not show up in the widget. Nothing shows up at all. So I added in the full URL

    Code:
    <center><a href="http://www.linktosite.com" target="_blank">
     <img src="http://www.mywebsite.com/forum/images/adverts/imagename.jpg" />
    </a>
    </center>
    That didn't show up either...

    So I put the image into the main "images" folder and changed the html to below, removing the "pics" folder...then it worked, the image shows up and is clickable to the url specified.

    Code:
    <center><a href="http://www.linktosite.com" target="_blank">
     <img src="http://www.mywebsite.com/forum/images/imagename.jpg" />
    </a>
    </center>
    If I remove the full URL and change it to "forum/images/imagename.jpg" it doesn't show up either, I get the "missing image" icon...

    Any idea why I need the full URL and why it won't pick up the image when placed in the "adverts" folder? This is brand new clean install for a test board, no mods. The code works perfectly fine on my normal website, but on the new test install it won't work. The image shows when I type the URL into a browser, but won't show in the widget. Confused.
    Last edited by Greeksgal; Tue 11 Jun '13, 8:43am.
  • Trevor Hannant
    vBulletin Support
    • Aug 2002
    • 24356
    • 5.7.X

    #2
    If you're talking about your BlackPearl Sims site, your URLs don't include a /forum directory. Would be easier to help with the actual URL and actual path to the image you're looking to use rather than trying to guess at the reasons...
    Vote for:

    - Admin Settable Paid Subscription Reminder Timeframe (vB6)
    - Add Admin ability to auto-subscribe users to specific channel(s) (vB6)

    Comment

    • Greeksgal
      Senior Member
      • Jul 2006
      • 215
      • 4.0.0

      #3
      I set up a test board on another url...a friend is considering VB for her community that I co Admin with (currently using Ning, which is crap) but doesn't know anything about VB so wanted to show her the functions so set it up on another domain I had...the url for the image is http://www.grubbiceramics.co.uk/foru...addictions.jpg

      Comment

      • Trevor Hannant
        vBulletin Support
        • Aug 2002
        • 24356
        • 5.7.X

        #4
        That doesn't help us with the issue on the site you're having - we need the URL the test site is on so we know what path you should use.
        Vote for:

        - Admin Settable Paid Subscription Reminder Timeframe (vB6)
        - Add Admin ability to auto-subscribe users to specific channel(s) (vB6)

        Comment

        • Greeksgal
          Senior Member
          • Jul 2006
          • 215
          • 4.0.0

          #5
          That is the URL the test site is on http://www.grubbiceramics.co.uk/forum/content.php

          Comment

          • Greeksgal
            Senior Member
            • Jul 2006
            • 215
            • 4.0.0

            #6
            Anyone?

            Comment

            • BirdOPrey5
              Senior Member
              • Jul 2008
              • 9613
              • 5.6.3

              #7
              The URL you coud use is ETHER

              /forum/images/imagename.jpg

              OR


              images/imagename.jpg



              Either will work. The top one will work regardless the folder it is being called from so I prefer it.

              Comment

              • Greeksgal
                Senior Member
                • Jul 2006
                • 215
                • 4.0.0

                #8
                I don't want the image to be in the images folder though, I want it inside a subfolder, but when I do that, it won't show up. If I put the image inside a folder called "Adverts" in the "Images" folder and use the path http://www.grubbiceramics.co.uk/forum/images/adverts/glassaddictions.jpg then the image won't appear on the site, even though if you go to the URL, it's visible. It will only show on the site when I place the image in the images folder and use the path http://www.grubbiceramics.co.uk/foru...addictions.jpg. For some reason, the site/widget won't recognise the subfolder inside the images folder.

                Comment

                • Greeksgal
                  Senior Member
                  • Jul 2006
                  • 215
                  • 4.0.0

                  #9
                  Anyone?

                  Comment

                  • BirdOPrey5
                    Senior Member
                    • Jul 2008
                    • 9613
                    • 5.6.3

                    #10
                    The file path is case sensitive. If the folder is called Adverts the path can't have a lower-case A.

                    Comment

                    • Greeksgal
                      Senior Member
                      • Jul 2006
                      • 215
                      • 4.0.0

                      #11
                      The folder doesn't have an upper case A. The url is correct, it just won't show on the forum unless I link to the main images folder. Nothing shows at all if I link to a subfolder.

                      Comment

                      widgetinstance 262 (Related Topics) skipped due to lack of content & hide_module_if_empty option.
                      Working...