Memcache error message

Collapse
X
 
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts
  • Astyanax
    Senior Member
    • Dec 2009
    • 423
    • 4.2.X

    [Forum] Memcache error message

    How do I solve this:

    Fatal error:
    Memcache is not installed in [path]/includes/class_datastore.php on line 183




    AMD Forum
  • Lynne
    Former vBulletin Support
    • Oct 2004
    • 26255

    #2
    What do you have set in config.php > $config['Datastore']['class'] ? And, a bit below there is some commented out stuff related to memcached also. Is it still commented out?

    Please don't PM or VM me for support - I only help out in the threads.
    vBulletin Manual & vBulletin 4.0 Code Documentation (API)
    Want help modifying your vbulletin forum? Head on over to vbulletin.org
    If I post CSS and you don't know where it goes, throw it into the additional.css template.

    W3Schools <- awesome site for html/css help

    Comment

    • Astyanax
      Senior Member
      • Dec 2009
      • 423
      • 4.2.X

      #3
      Here are the settings:

      $config['Datastore']['class'] = 'vB_Datastore_Memcached';
      $i = 0;
      // First Server
      $i++;
      $config['Misc']['memcacheserver'][$i] = '192.168.1.225';
      $config['Misc']['memcacheport'][$i] = 11211;
      $config['Misc']['memcachepersistent'][$i] = true;
      $config['Misc']['memcacheweight'][$i] = 1;
      $config['Misc']['memcachetimeout'][$i] = 1;
      $config['Misc']['memcacheretry_interval'][$i] = 15;
      If uncomment:

      // $config['Datastore']['class'] = 'vB_Datastore_Memcached';

      we get no error message but memcache does not work.
      AMD Forum

      Comment

      • Lynne
        Former vBulletin Support
        • Oct 2004
        • 26255

        #4
        I'm not sure what you mean about uncommenting that line... in the above code, you are showing it as uncommented. Or do you still have the comment code around it - /* and */ ? If you are going to use those configuration options, you need to uncomment them.

        Please don't PM or VM me for support - I only help out in the threads.
        vBulletin Manual & vBulletin 4.0 Code Documentation (API)
        Want help modifying your vbulletin forum? Head on over to vbulletin.org
        If I post CSS and you don't know where it goes, throw it into the additional.css template.

        W3Schools <- awesome site for html/css help

        Comment

        • Astyanax
          Senior Member
          • Dec 2009
          • 423
          • 4.2.X

          #5
          I just forwarded the info to you from the site Im hosting my forum on. But the error message I receive, what usually cause this? And is memcache going to work 100% with vBulletin 4.0.1.
          Fatal error: Memcache is not installed in [path]/includes/class_datastore.php on line 183
          AMD Forum

          Comment

          • George L
            Former vBulletin Support
            • May 2000
            • 32996
            • 3.8.x

            #6
            it's because you enabled memcached datastore in config.php but don't have memcached/memcache installed and/or properly configured on your web server.

            If you have web + mysql on same server, instead of using memcached, install Xcache v1.2.2 http://xcache.lighttpd.net/wiki/Release-1.2.2 which seems to be a bit faster than APC Cache - http://www.vbulletin.com/forum/showthread.php?t=213267. Xcache site http://xcache.lighttpd.net/, install guide http://xcache.lighttpd.net/wiki/InstallFromSource and forums http://forum.lighttpd.net/forum/4

            enable xcache datastore caching for each vB forum (vB 3.7.x and higher only supported). In vB config.php file these entries

            Code:
            	// ****** DATASTORE CACHE CONFIGURATION *****
            	// Here you can configure different methods for caching datastore items.
            	// vB_Datastore_Filecache  - to use includes/datastore/datastore_cache.php
            	// vB_Datastore_APC - to use APC
            	// vB_Datastore_XCache - to use XCache
            	// vB_Datastore_Memcached - to use a Memcache server, more configuration below
            // $config['Datastore']['class'] = 'vB_Datastore_Filecache';
            
            	// ******** DATASTORE PREFIX ******
            	// If you are using a PHP Caching system (APC, XCache, eAccelerator) with more
            	// than one set of forums installed on your host, you *may* need to use a prefix
            	// so that they do not try to use the same variable within the cache.
            	// This works in a similar manner to the database table prefix.
            // $config['Datastore']['prefix'] = '';
            the 2 lines you need to modify by uncommenting (removing // from beginning of line) and changing their values

            from
            Code:
            // $config['Datastore']['class'] = 'vB_Datastore_Filecache';
            // $config['Datastore']['prefix'] = '';
            to
            Code:
            $config['Datastore']['class'] = 'vB_Datastore_XCache';
            $config['Datastore']['prefix'] = 'forum1';
            change forum1 to whatever you want but it must be unqiue to each of your vB forums installed on same server so forum1, forum2, forum3, forum4, forum5 for 5 different vB forums' config files.
            :: Always Back Up Forum Database + Attachments BEFORE upgrading !
            :: Nginx SPDY SSL - World Flags Demo [video results]
            :: vBulletin hacked forums: Clean Up Guide for VPS/Dedicated hosting users [ vbulletin.com blog summary ]

            Comment

            • valerios
              Senior Member
              • Jan 2010
              • 253
              • 4.1.x

              #7
              I have the same issue:
              what it happen to me it is that i ask to the new provider to transfer the forum and websites into the new space, on the old server it work perfect, on the new i have the same error:

              Fatal error: Memcache is not installed in [path]/includes/class_datastore.php on line 183
              I checked the config files, and my memcache part is all commented:

              // It is also necessary to specify the hostname or IP address and the port the server is listening on/*
              $config['Datastore']['class'] = 'vB_Datastore_Memcached';
              $i = 0;
              // First Server
              //$i++;
              //$config['Misc']['memcacheserver'][$i] = '127.0.0.1';
              //$config['Misc']['memcacheport'][$i] = 11211;
              //$config['Misc']['memcachepersistent'][$i] = true;
              //$config['Misc']['memcacheweight'][$i] = 1;
              //$config['Misc']['memcachetimeout'][$i] = 1;
              //$config['Misc']['memcacheretry_interval'][$i] = 15;
              //
              Can you help me?
              Last edited by valerios; Fri 29 Apr '11, 7:24pm.
              VOTE ->Allow to rotate and tag the album pictures
              ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
              Official vbulletin Italian Group on vbulletin.com, Join us HERE
              ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
              Helping people to settle in Australia:
              www.australianboard.com
              The community of the people that dream Australia:
              www.australianboardcommunity.com

              Comment

              • George L
                Former vBulletin Support
                • May 2000
                • 32996
                • 3.8.x

                #8
                valerios sounds like new server doesn't have memcached server and memcache compiled for php as per post #6 in this thread and http://www.vbulletin.com/forum/showt...mcached-server
                :: Always Back Up Forum Database + Attachments BEFORE upgrading !
                :: Nginx SPDY SSL - World Flags Demo [video results]
                :: vBulletin hacked forums: Clean Up Guide for VPS/Dedicated hosting users [ vbulletin.com blog summary ]

                Comment

                • valerios
                  Senior Member
                  • Jan 2010
                  • 253
                  • 4.1.x

                  #9
                  yes Eva, infact they told me that on that shared server is not included but they found a way to overtake that issue.
                  I hope it does not affect the forum performances.
                  You are in Australia too! Good to know i'm in Sydney!
                  thank you
                  Last edited by valerios; Fri 29 Apr '11, 7:24pm.
                  VOTE ->Allow to rotate and tag the album pictures
                  ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
                  Official vbulletin Italian Group on vbulletin.com, Join us HERE
                  ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
                  Helping people to settle in Australia:
                  www.australianboard.com
                  The community of the people that dream Australia:
                  www.australianboardcommunity.com

                  Comment

                  • M@tt
                    Senior Member
                    • Oct 2009
                    • 112
                    • 3.8.x

                    #10
                    That's cool indeed. Didn't realise any VBulletin staff were in Oz let alone the same city.
                    sigpic

                    Comment

                    • George L
                      Former vBulletin Support
                      • May 2000
                      • 32996
                      • 3.8.x

                      #11
                      Yup a fellow Aussie

                      Glad it's working for you now.
                      :: Always Back Up Forum Database + Attachments BEFORE upgrading !
                      :: Nginx SPDY SSL - World Flags Demo [video results]
                      :: vBulletin hacked forums: Clean Up Guide for VPS/Dedicated hosting users [ vbulletin.com blog summary ]

                      Comment

                      • tommac
                        Senior Member
                        • Jul 2005
                        • 151

                        #12
                        I have the same thing:
                        Fatal error: Memcache is not installed in ..../includes/class_datastore.php on line 185

                        and infact I am using the Memcached from AWS. It is installed and running correctly. What is the fix for this?

                        Comment

                        • Wayne Luke
                          vBulletin Technical Support Lead
                          • Aug 2000
                          • 73976

                          #13
                          Originally posted by tommac
                          I have the same thing:
                          Fatal error: Memcache is not installed in ..../includes/class_datastore.php on line 185

                          and infact I am using the Memcached from AWS. It is installed and running correctly. What is the fix for this?
                          Having Memcache installed on your server isn't enough. You must also have the appropriate classes and libraries installed within PHP in order to use Memcache. Please see the post above about installing Memcache.
                          Translations provided by Google.

                          Wayne Luke
                          The Rabid Badger - a vBulletin Cloud demonstration site.
                          vBulletin 5 API

                          Comment

                          Related Topics

                          Collapse

                          Working...