Flash code embed not working, just shows white box

Collapse
X
 
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts
  • Advisor
    Member
    • Jun 2009
    • 97
    • 3.8.x

    [Forum] Flash code embed not working, just shows white box

    Please see my example:

    using this code:
    <embed src={param} width=450 height=400 type=application/x-shockwave-flash></embed>

    I put in the Code from a site such as this in between the [flash] and the [/flash]
    some url like this:

    and it does not work just the white box shows up!
    Last edited by Advisor; Fri 8 Jan '10, 8:41am.
  • Advisor
    Member
    • Jun 2009
    • 97
    • 3.8.x

    #2
    BTW I checked it in Firefox and chrome.

    Comment

    • nubian
      Senior Member
      • Nov 2004
      • 495

      #3
      Is that a custom bbcode?

      Comment

      • Advisor
        Member
        • Jun 2009
        • 97
        • 3.8.x

        #4
        Custom code I got from this forum I believe.
        Add BB Code in the Adminr CP thank you.

        Comment

        • Advisor
          Member
          • Jun 2009
          • 97
          • 3.8.x

          #5
          anybody seen this in vb4 beta?

          Comment

          • nubian
            Senior Member
            • Nov 2004
            • 495

            #6
            What is the flash source url string you're using as the parameter?

            Comment

            • nubian
              Senior Member
              • Nov 2004
              • 495

              #7
              I just tested this actually got the Flash bbcode to work.
              I do see an error on your part.

              Change this:
              Code:
              <embed src={param} width=450 height=400 type=application/x-shockwave-flash></embed>
              To this:
              Code:
              <embed src="{param}" width="450" height="400" type=application/x-shockwave-flash></embed>
              Edit: Well actually the quotes shouldn't matter because I was able to get this working without the quotes.
              Last edited by nubian; Fri 8 Jan '10, 11:47am.

              Comment

              • Advisor
                Member
                • Jun 2009
                • 97
                • 3.8.x

                #8
                so you used this:
                <embed src={param} width=450 height=400 type=application/x-shockwave-flash></embed>
                Which is the one I could not get working, with this link: http://www.politico.com/largevideobo...id=60932634001 ?

                Comment

                • baghdad4ever
                  Senior Member
                  • Apr 2007
                  • 587
                  • 4.1.x

                  #9
                  when you add the bbcode

                  put {option} to yes

                  Comment

                  • nubian
                    Senior Member
                    • Nov 2004
                    • 495

                    #10
                    I think you need to get the raw swf url path.

                    Originally posted by baghdad4ever
                    when you add the bbcode

                    put {option} to yes
                    But the ts is not using the {option} function

                    Comment

                    • Advisor
                      Member
                      • Jun 2009
                      • 97
                      • 3.8.x

                      #11
                      This did not work. It made the entire whitebox diappear.

                      Comment

                      • nubian
                        Senior Member
                        • Nov 2004
                        • 495

                        #12
                        See if you can embed this: http://www.adobe.com/products/flashp...uee/design.swf
                        If you can then it works.

                        Comment

                        • Advisor
                          Member
                          • Jun 2009
                          • 97
                          • 3.8.x

                          #13
                          THis worked:

                          with this code
                          <embed src="{param}" width="450" height="400" type=application/x-shockwave-flash></embed>
                          ==========
                          so my question is NOW:
                          How can i replay Politico flash on my site: They give you a link like this:
                          http://www.politico.com/largevideobo...id=60932634001
                          or embeded code like this:
                          <object id="flashObj" width="486" height="412" classid="clsid27CDB6E-AE6D-11cf-96B8-444553540000" codebase="http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=9,0,47,0"><param name="movie" value="http://c.brightcove.com/services/viewer/federated_f9/19407224001?isVid=1&publisherID=1155968404" /><param name="bgcolor" value="#FFFFFF" /><param name="flashVars" value="videoId=60487033001&playerID=19407224001&domain=embed&" /><param name="base" value="http://admin.brightcove.com" /><param name="seamlesstabbing" value="false" /><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true" /><param name="swLiveConnect" value="true" /><param name="allowScriptAccess" value="always" /><embed src="http://c.brightcove.com/services/viewer/federated_f9/19407224001?isVid=1&publisherID=1155968404" bgcolor="#FFFFFF" flashVars="videoId=60487033001&playerID=19407224001&domain=embed&" base="http://admin.brightcove.com" name="flashObj" width="486" height="412" seamlesstabbing="false" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowFullScreen="true" swLiveConnect="true" allowScriptAccess="always" pluginspage="http://www.macromedia.com/shockwave/download/index.cgi?P1_Prod_Version=ShockwaveFlash"></embed></object>
                          How might I use either? I do not care which one, I just want one that works! please assist! Thanks!

                          Comment

                          • nubian
                            Senior Member
                            • Nov 2004
                            • 495

                            #14
                            I think that embed code is pulling flashVars externally which would make it tough for you to utilize that generic Flash bbcode unless you want a custom bbcode specifically for politico videos.
                            Last edited by nubian; Fri 8 Jan '10, 7:29pm.

                            Comment

                            • Advisor
                              Member
                              • Jun 2009
                              • 97
                              • 3.8.x

                              #15
                              well i am really only interested in Admins doing this, so what should I do? I can go to forums/permissions/ admins/ enable html. BUT then what to play the code do what? or to make the "link" work, what should I do?
                              And THANK YOU!
                              Actually, i just went to forum permissions / administrator and did not see the option. Under the Forum directly I see that you can turn on html, however, I do not know how to keep that okay only for Administrators??
                              Last edited by Advisor; Fri 8 Jan '10, 6:30pm.

                              Comment

                              Related Topics

                              Collapse

                              Working...