How to add link to navbar?

Collapse
X
 
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts
  • d3nnis
    Senior Member
    • Jun 2003
    • 620
    • 3.7.x

    [Forum] How to add link to navbar?

    i know there is a mod available on vbulletin.org but i am not keen to use it.

    i prefer to add under style -> navbar

    but i can't seems to find the correct place in the codes to add my new link.
  • Myago
    New Member
    • Jan 2009
    • 8
    • 4.2.x

    #2
    edit
    www.hondateam.it

    Comment

    • d3nnis
      Senior Member
      • Jun 2003
      • 620
      • 3.7.x

      #3
      no one?

      Comment

      • S1OPP
        Senior Member
        • Jul 2005
        • 210
        • 4.0.0

        #4
        try this ..

        Comment

        • d3nnis
          Senior Member
          • Jun 2003
          • 620
          • 3.7.x

          #5
          Originally posted by S1OPP
          ermm i prefer to hard code this one.

          Comment

          • =abvolt=
            Member
            • May 2008
            • 74
            • 4.2.X

            #6
            Try this:

            Go to your navbar template:

            Styles and Templates > Style Manager > vB4 > Navigation Breadcrumb Templates > Navbar:

            Find this code near the bottom:

            Code:
            <div class="breadcrumbcontainer">
            <div id="breadcrumb">
            Above it add:

            Code:
            <!-- Navbar Links -->
            <div align="center">
            <table class="tborder" cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" cellspacing="0" border="3" width="100%" align="center" style="border-top-width:1px">
            <tr align="center">
            <td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="LINK HERE">LINK NAME</a></td>
            <td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="LINK HERE">LINK NAME</a></td>
            <td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="LINK HERE">LINK NAME</a></td>
            <td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="LINK HERE">LINK NAME</a></td>
            <td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="LINK HERE">LINK NAME</a></td>
            <td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="LINK HERE">LINK NAME</a></td>
            </tr>
            </table>
            </div>
            <!-- / Navbar Links -->
            OR...

            You can use it this way and add links to the navbar with new posts and pm's, etc.

            Find in the navbar template:

            Code:
            {vb:raw template_hook.navbar_start}
            <vb:if condition="$show['searchbuttons']">
            Add below:

            Code:
            <li><a href="sample.php?{vb:raw session.sessionurl}">Sample</a></li>
            <li><a href="sample.php?{vb:raw session.sessionurl}">Sample</a></li>
            <li><a href="sample.php?{vb:raw session.sessionurl}">Sample</a></li>
            <li><a href="sample.php?{vb:raw session.sessionurl}">Sample</a></li>
            Edit the links to whatever you want.

            Note: If you do not want a border around your links, go to where it says border="3" and change it to border="0"!

            Save and Reload.
            Uberforces

            Comment

            • d3nnis
              Senior Member
              • Jun 2003
              • 620
              • 3.7.x

              #7
              Originally posted by =abvolt=
              Try this:

              Go to your navbar template:

              Styles and Templates > Style Manager > vB4 > Navigation Breadcrumb Templates > Navbar:

              Find this code near the bottom:

              Code:
              <div class="breadcrumbcontainer">
              <div id="breadcrumb">
              Above it add:

              Code:
              <!-- Navbar Links -->
              <div align="center">
              <table class="tborder" cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" cellspacing="0" border="3" width="100%" align="center" style="border-top-width:1px">
              <tr align="center">
              <td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="LINK HERE">LINK NAME</a></td>
              <td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="LINK HERE">LINK NAME</a></td>
              <td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="LINK HERE">LINK NAME</a></td>
              <td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="LINK HERE">LINK NAME</a></td>
              <td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="LINK HERE">LINK NAME</a></td>
              <td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="LINK HERE">LINK NAME</a></td>
              </tr>
              </table>
              </div>
              <!-- / Navbar Links -->
              OR...

              You can use it this way and add links to the navbar with new posts and pm's, etc.

              Find in the navbar template:

              Code:
              {vb:raw template_hook.navbar_start}
              <vb:if condition="$show['searchbuttons']">
              Add below:

              Code:
              <li><a href="sample.php?{vb:raw session.sessionurl}">Sample</a></li>
              <li><a href="sample.php?{vb:raw session.sessionurl}">Sample</a></li>
              <li><a href="sample.php?{vb:raw session.sessionurl}">Sample</a></li>
              <li><a href="sample.php?{vb:raw session.sessionurl}">Sample</a></li>
              Edit the links to whatever you want.

              Note: If you do not want a border around your links, go to where it says border="3" and change it to border="0"!

              Save and Reload.
              thanks but actually i wanted the new links to be added to the tabs... eg Home | Forum | Blog | Whats New?

              Comment

              • pisymbol
                New Member
                • Jul 2009
                • 18

                #8
                I would also be interested in an explanation. VB's template system I am finding very confusing as a complete n00b.

                Comment

                • abqtj
                  Member
                  • Nov 2008
                  • 66

                  #9
                  I know you said you want to hard code it for some reason, but it worked great for me (and painless).

                  Originally posted by d3nnis
                  ermm i prefer to hard code this one.
                  Originally posted by S1OPP
                  New Mexico Offroad

                  Comment

                  • d3nnis
                    Senior Member
                    • Jun 2003
                    • 620
                    • 3.7.x

                    #10
                    Originally posted by abqtj
                    I know you said you want to hard code it for some reason, but it worked great for me (and painless).
                    hehe i prefer the painful cos in long run i try to install less mod if not necessary. navbar in vb 3 is alot easier to edit as compared to vb 4...

                    Comment

                    • SuperGLS
                      Senior Member
                      • Nov 2004
                      • 104
                      • 4.0.0

                      #11
                      Template edits are a pain because then any time you update (4.0.0 to 4.0.1 etc etc) you have to change it again.

                      Both of the HOW TO's on this subject at vB.org work great.

                      Comment

                      • hillclimber
                        Member
                        • Apr 2009
                        • 57

                        #12
                        I am not finding that code anywhere in my navbar template????

                        Comment

                        • imahawki
                          Member
                          • Aug 2007
                          • 89

                          #13
                          Me neither. That code isn't in the template...

                          Comment

                          • Wuume
                            New Member
                            • May 2011
                            • 22
                            • 4.1.x

                            #14
                            The module is going to make more easy for you the coding all this
                            My new websites: online chat, microblogging and confesiones

                            Comment

                            • imahawki
                              Member
                              • Aug 2007
                              • 89

                              #15
                              As has already been pointed out, that adds tabs to the tab bar, not links to the nav bar.

                              Also, I'd like to be able to add links to the footer bar. Prior to my upgrade, I had a link to new posts down where it says Contact Us, Top, etc.

                              Comment

                              widgetinstance 262 (Related Topics) skipped due to lack of content & hide_module_if_empty option.
                              Working...