• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Erocka
    • Sep 2008

[Forum] Can't Install

I go to the install.php and get this

Code:
    Parse error: syntax error, unexpected '{' in /path/to/domains/sofreshforums.com/html/install/install.php on line 332
    No idea where to go from here!
  • melbo
    • Apr 2005
    • 3.8.x

I don't think you should have the /html in that url; the entire URL looks wrong to me. What did you type in to "install" and where did you upload the files in your 'upload' folder?

Comment

• Erocka
      • Sep 2008

html isn't in the actual URL- that's the server path. It's the way my host is setup.
      I uploaded all files in the upload folder to the root.

I've been using VB for about 3 years and this is def something I've never encountered.

Comment

• melbo
        • Apr 2005
        • 3.8.x

Try uploading files again. Did you unistall/turn off all add-on and mods before you started? db Backup?
        Have your forum files always been in root in the past and not in a /forum directory?

I got the same thing when poking around and I think you may have some files in root that are in conflict. You should still be able to grab a MySQL backup, clear your root and start from scratch if you have a backup of all your image/avatars, etc.

Comment

• melbo
          • Apr 2005
          • 3.8.x

read this if you haven't alread

Comment

• Erocka
            • Sep 2008

Originally posted by melbo
            Try uploading files again. Did you unistall/turn off all add-on and mods before you started? db Backup?
            Have your forum files always been in root in the past and not in a /forum directory?

I got the same thing when poking around and I think you may have some files in root that are in conflict. You should still be able to grab a MySQL backup, clear your root and start from scratch if you have a backup of all your image/avatars, etc.
            I'm actually doing a fresh install. I've always used the root before.