Recurring Subscription madness..members getting billed without re-subscribing

Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • dssart
    • Jan 2002

Recurring Subscription madness..members getting billed without re-subscribing

I have a subscription for my VBulletin board that offers upgraded access for $20.00 year. My members have been complaining that at the end of their subscription, PayPal has been automatically taking $20.00 from their accounts and renews their subscription for a year. Can someone tell me what I have to do to get this to work correctly? I read through some of the threads here that had a similar problem, and all suggested it was a PayPal issue, and suggested for subscriber to go to their PayPal accounts, access their profile, and access recurring payments. Then cancel any recurring billing plans from my site.

I've had subscribers who have been automatically rebilled check that and no link to my site is there at all. PayPal has been useless.

This is how I want it to work...

1.Member clicks on subscription button
    2. Member pays $20 via PayPal
    3. Member enjoys upgraded access for # year
    4. At the end of the year, the member is sent a message saying his
    membership is due and if he doesn't renew by XXX, his subscription will
    be cancelled
    5. If member doesn't renew by XXX, their subscription is cancelled

Can these subscriptions get munged up? I have about 95 subscribers..should I create a fresh subscription, then maybe mass email my subscribers informaing them of the problem and let them know I will be moving them over to the new subscription?
  • Lynne
    Former vBulletin Support
    • Oct 2004

If you go to Subscription Manager > Edit Subscription, do you have a checkmark in the Recurring box next to the subscription cost at the bottom of the page? From the help popup:
    Recurring Payments
    This only applies to PayPal payments.

You can choose to have the payment recur until the user cancels the subscription.