how do I edit the header

Collapse
X
 
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts
  • HuntAmerica.com
    Member
    • Apr 2009
    • 55
    • 3.8.x

    how do I edit the header

    Hi.. I hate to keep asking stupid questions but how do I replace or remove the vbulletin logo image at the upper left hand corner of my forums... its url is .....vbulletin3_logo_white.gif

    (yeah I know: there are no stupid questions only stupid answers)

    BTW.. In my opinion v bulletin board is vastly superior to ubb

    Thanks, Marshall
    www.huntamerica.com/forum
  • Jake Bunce
    Senior Member
    • Dec 2000
    • 46598
    • 3.6.x

    #2
    Admin CP -> Styles & Templates -> Style Manager -> StyleVars (in the menu) -> Title Image

    Or edit the HTML directly:

    Admin CP -> Styles & Templates -> Style Manager -> Common Templates (in the menu) -> header

    Comment

    • HuntAmerica.com
      Member
      • Apr 2009
      • 55
      • 3.8.x

      #3
      Thanks, but now how do I make my replacement image link to a another website and open up in a new window?

      Comment

      • Jake Bunce
        Senior Member
        • Dec 2000
        • 46598
        • 3.6.x

        #4
        That requires editing the HTML code in the header template.

        Comment

        • HuntAmerica.com
          Member
          • Apr 2009
          • 55
          • 3.8.x

          #5
          Originally posted by Jake Bunce
          That requires editing the HTML code in the header template.

          This is what I see:

          <!-- logo -->
          <a name="top"></a>
          <table border="0" width="$stylevar[outertablewidth]" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" align="center">
          <tr>
          <td align="$stylevar[left]"><a href="$vboptions[forumhome].php$session[sessionurl_q]"><img src="$stylevar[titleimage]" border="0" alt="$vboptions[bbtitle]" /></a></td>
          <td align="$stylevar[right]" id="header_right_cell">
          <if condition="$ad_location['ad_header_logo']">$ad_location[ad_header_logo]<else />&nbsp;</if>
          </td>
          </tr>
          </table>
          <!-- /logo -->
          <!-- content table -->
          $spacer_open
          $_phpinclude_output
          $ad_location[ad_header_end]

          This is what I want (see below)... something doesnt see right with your instructions..... or am I totally missing something?
          <html>
          <!-- Created with the CoffeeCup HTML Editor 2008 -->
          <!-- http://www.coffeecup.com/ -->
          <!-- Brewed on 5/12/2009 2:21:17 PM -->
          <head>
          <title></title>
          <meta http-equiv="content-type" content="text/html;charset=UTF-8"/>
          </head>
          <body><atitle="TalleyScopeRings.com -- Click on the banner"href="http://www.talleyscoperings.com"target="_blank"><imgstyle="Z-INDEX: 100; POSITION: absolute"border="0"alt="TalleyScopeRings.com -- Click on the banner"src="file://C:\Program Files\CoffeeCup Software\Working\talleybanner2.jpg"width="379"height="200"></a>

          </body>
          </html>

          Comment

          • Jake Bunce
            Senior Member
            • Dec 2000
            • 46598
            • 3.6.x

            #6
            Editing that template requires some HTML ability on your part.

            Comment

            • HuntAmerica.com
              Member
              • Apr 2009
              • 55
              • 3.8.x

              #7
              So I am asking too much for you to show me how it should be written.. I know something about html but I don't want to remove codes that should remain... can you or anyone else help me?

              <!-- logo -->
              <a name="top"></a>
              <table border="0" width="$stylevar[outertablewidth]" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" align="center">
              <tr>
              <td align="$stylevar[left]"><a href="$vboptions[forumhome].php$session[sessionurl_q]"><img src="$stylevar[titleimage]" border="0" alt="$vboptions[bbtitle]" /></a></td>
              <td align="$stylevar[right]" id="header_right_cell">
              <if condition="$ad_location['ad_header_logo']">$ad_location[ad_header_logo]<else />&nbsp;</if>
              </td>
              </tr>
              </table>
              <!-- /logo -->
              <!-- content table -->
              $spacer_open
              $_phpinclude_output
              $ad_location[ad_header_end]



              <html>
              <!-- Created with the CoffeeCup HTML Editor 2008 -->
              <!-- http://www.coffeecup.com/ -->
              <!-- Brewed on 5/12/2009 2:21:17 PM -->
              <head>
              <title></title>
              <meta http-equiv=
              "content-type" content="text/html;charset=UTF-8"/>
              </head>
              <body>
              <atitle="TalleyScopeRings.com -- Click on the banner"href="http://www.talleyscoperings.com"target="_blank"><imgstyle="Z-INDEX: 100; POSITION: absolute"border="0"alt="TalleyScopeRings.com -- Click on the banner"src="http://www.huntamerica.com/images/talleybanner2.jpg"width="379"height="200"></a>

              </body>
              </html>

              Comment

              • HuntAmerica.com
                Member
                • Apr 2009
                • 55
                • 3.8.x

                #8
                please help this is a two minute task...

                Comment

                • jmurrayhead
                  Senior Member
                  • Sep 2006
                  • 1642

                  #9
                  Try this:
                  Code:
                  <!-- logo -->
                  <a name="top"></a>
                  <table border="0" width="$stylevar[outertablewidth]" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" align="center">
                  <tr>
                  <td align="$stylevar[left]"><a [B]title="TalleyScopeRings.com -- Click on the banner" href="http://www.talleyscoperings.com" target="_blank"[/B]><img src="$stylevar[titleimage]" border="0" alt="$vboptions[bbtitle]" /></a></td>
                  <td align="$stylevar[right]" id="header_right_cell">
                  <if condition="$ad_location['ad_header_logo']">$ad_location[ad_header_logo]<else />&nbsp;</if>
                  </td>
                  </tr>
                  </table>
                  <!-- /logo -->
                  <!-- content table -->
                  $spacer_open
                  $_phpinclude_output
                  $ad_location[ad_header_end]
                  No...No...Meester vBulletin, he no work right.

                  Comment

                  • HuntAmerica.com
                    Member
                    • Apr 2009
                    • 55
                    • 3.8.x

                    #10
                    Jason.. THANK YOU.

                    I sent Jason a Private Message and in less than 3 minutes after doing so I got a notification that you had responded to my thread. V bulletin board should put Jason on the payroll..

                    Why Jake couldn't have responded as you did leaves a big question mark in my mind. If I knew how do to this then I wouldnt have asked him... his response to the affect that I need to know more about HTML wasn't appropriate at least not coming from a employee of the company or so that is how it appears to me. If I am wrong about this then someone please tell me...

                    Comment

                    • jmurrayhead
                      Senior Member
                      • Sep 2006
                      • 1642

                      #11
                      Originally posted by HuntAmerica.com
                      Jason.. THANK YOU.

                      I sent Jason a Private Message and in less than 3 minutes after doing so I got a notification that you had responded to my thread. V bulletin board should put Jason on the payroll..

                      Why Jake couldn't have responded as you did leaves a big question mark in my mind. If I knew how do to this then I wouldnt have asked him... his response to the affect that I need to know more about HTML wasn't appropriate at least not coming from a employee of the company or so that is how it appears to me. If I am wrong about this then someone please tell me...
                      You're welcome, but don't be too upset. AFAIK Jake is a volunteer here and helps a great deal of people every day.
                      No...No...Meester vBulletin, he no work right.

                      Comment

                      • HuntAmerica.com
                        Member
                        • Apr 2009
                        • 55
                        • 3.8.x

                        #12
                        My apologies to Jake... I did appreciate his initial responses and after that I guess I feel like he left me out hanging...

                        Jason with no exaggeration you gave me the answer within 3 minutes of my sending you a private message. There are people like myself how are not good at sorting code from html...

                        Thanks for your help... wasnt trying to whine but i guess i was.. my apologies

                        Comment

                        • Sownman
                          Senior Member
                          • Jun 2004
                          • 340

                          #13
                          If you look around here you see lots of examples of VB staff offering HTML help when it is of a general interest. Taking time to write code specific to one persons needs is absurd to expect.

                          Steve

                          Comment

                          widgetinstance 262 (Related Topics) skipped due to lack of content & hide_module_if_empty option.
                          Working...