Parsing error in config on installation

Collapse
X
 
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts
  • Cort
    Senior Member
    • Dec 2008
    • 119

    Parsing error in config on installation

    I'm trying to bring up the installer; I type in my url and I get this error

    Parse error: parse error in C:\Domains\aboutmecfs.org\wwwroot\Forums\includes\config.php on line 31

    That line refers to my database name:

    $config['Database']['dbname'] = 'phforum'

    That is my database name, however: I'm not sure how I went wrong.

    Porum



  • glennybee
    Senior Member
    • Feb 2008
    • 1005
    • 3.7.x

    #2
    You may need to prefix the database name with the username of your hosting account, for exmaple, you have an account with hostgator.com and your username is 'Cort', the line would look like:

    $config['Database']['dbname'] = 'cort_phforum'

    Your database username would also need to be prefixed with the host account username.

    Comment

    • Lats
      Senior Member
      • Mar 2002
      • 3671

      #3
      Looks like you've dropped the semi-colon ( ; ) off the line, or even the previous line that you edited.
      Lats...

      Comment

      • Cort
        Senior Member
        • Dec 2008
        • 119

        #4
        Thanks but still stuck

        I added my user name to the front but alas it didn't work. I checked the semi-colon - yes I had not added it to my question but unfortunately it was there in the config file. Thanks for your suggestions, though.

        I'm checking with my webhost about the correct name.

        Comment

        • gretchenricker
          New Member
          • Feb 2009
          • 6

          #5
          I am also having a parsing error. Mine says
          Parse error: parse error, unexpected T_STRING in /vbulletin/upload/includes/config.php on line 60

          I figured out that line 60 is my password which I know is correct.

          Any thoughts? I am a serious novice at all this and am worn out (but rather proud) just getting to this point.

          Thanks in advance.

          gretchen

          Comment

          • Lats
            Senior Member
            • Mar 2002
            • 3671

            #6
            A parse error in a php file means an error in syntax has been made, or you're not using a text editor to edit the file.

            Post your config.php file, within code tags, replacing the sensitive bits with x's.
            Lats...

            Comment

            • gretchenricker
              New Member
              • Feb 2009
              • 6

              #7
              Hi Lats;
              You're right! I had a funny quote. I fixed and moved onto the next error;


              Attempting to attach to database
              Error description: mysql_connect(): Can't connect to local MySQL server through socket '/tmp/mysql.sock' (46) /vbulletin/upload/includes/class_core.php on line 311


              I suspect that what I am putting in for the dbname is wrong but I can't figure out how to fix it. I found some tutorials on YouTube that have an underscore in the name of the database but I can't figure out what the name should be. This is really confusing. Any help is appreciated. I am really struggling through this. The techie kid that was helping me has dropped from sight so I am learning by doing.


              gretchen
              Last edited by gretchenricker; Sat 14 Feb '09, 2:15pm. Reason: Figured something out

              Comment

              • Lats
                Senior Member
                • Mar 2002
                • 3671

                #8
                A socket error means a server issue - you'll need to contact your host about that.
                Lats...

                Comment

                • gretchenricker
                  New Member
                  • Feb 2009
                  • 6

                  #9
                  Rats!

                  Thanks
                  g

                  Comment

                  • gretchenricker
                    New Member
                    • Feb 2009
                    • 6

                    #10
                    Talked to SBC and the tech had me make this change;


                    Line 53
                    $config['MasterServer']['servername'] = 'mysql';

                    It worked and I am up and running! Thanks everyone for your help.

                    gretchen

                    Comment

                    Related Topics

                    Collapse

                    Working...