• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Rob Banks
    • May 2011
    • 3.8.x

Hosting plan help for a newb, please

Hello,

I'm a total newb who was just put in charge of a very small BB running vB 4.2, and will upgrade to 5.0 when available.

I'm on HostGator's "hatching" plan, the bottom of the barrel, cheapo shared plan. Surprisingly, it worked well for 8 years, but now hangs and times out sporadically. So I'm thinking it's time to upgrade the plan to HG's VPS. I know many have a low opinion of HG, but it has worked well for us until recently.

Here are the stats that I think are relevant.

Jul 2012
    HTTP usage 4.46 Gig
    IMAP usage 0.00 Meg
    POP3 usage 0.00 Meg
    SMTP usage 0.00 Meg
    FTP usage 8.77 Meg

Total (all services) 4.47 Gig

Unique visitors 511
    Number of visits 2,349
    Pages 51,828
    Hits 235,668
    Bandwidth 4.17 GB

Any recommendations on what I need in a hosting plan are appreciated. The message board will not be growing much at all in terms of users or traffic.

I'm thinking HG's Level 2 VPS at 576MB RAM would be a good choice. Level 1 is 384, level 3 is 768.

TIA
  • KevinL
    • Apr 2005
    • 3.8.x

Stick with shared hosting but move to a quality host. No need to move to a vps.

Try checking out http://www.webhostingtalk.com also.
    HostAtom.net - Forum Hosting at it's best! Email [email protected] and find out more!
    Cpanel, Softaculous, LiteSpeed, CloudLinux, Daily R1Soft backups, 24x7 Server monitoring

Comment

• alemcherry
      • Jun 2006

Your traffic is not much, so a good shared hosting would be ideal. Try Liquidweb, if you want an option. When you are on a shared server, you have nothing to worry about server management etc, so a reasonably priced ($20 / mo or so) shared hosting would be my first recommendation for you.