X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • ultrono
    • Dec 2005
    • 3.6.x

VPS hosting

Is VPS hosting any better than the regular shared hosting in terms of perfomance/speed, etc?

I'm looking for a reliable VPS package nowadays.. Any recommendations/suggestions would be highly appreciated.

Thanks.
  • zhaoke
    • Nov 2004
    • 3.6.x

Certainly, u will get better performance and speed than shared hosting. if ur host is complaining of excess CPU and memory usage. i recommend http://linode.com, i use their VPS to host my site.

Comment

• Gene Steinberg
      • Dec 2006
      • 3.8.x

Originally posted by ultrono
      Is VPS hosting any better than the regular shared hosting in terms of perfomance/speed, etc?

I'm looking for a reliable VPS package nowadays.. Any recommendations/suggestions would be highly appreciated.

Thanks.
      OK, I've been using HostICan's VPS-Extreme service for nearly two months. It's extremely reliable, with great performance and support.

Here's a direct link to their VPS feature page for the cPanel version (they also have a version for Plesk fans):

Peace,
      Gene Steinberg

Comment

• encryption
        • May 2005

Regarding VPS hosting being better than shared or semi-dedicated hosting, it's a an unfortunate reality made true by webhosts who overcrowd the daylights out of their servers. That is exactly why the buzz of VPS hosting has caught on.

If you find a webhost who doesn't overcrowd his servers, your site will perform flawlessly even on a shared/semi-dedicated environment and your package will definitely be cheaper.
        www.MJWebhosting.com - (Vbulletin Forum Hosting)
        www.MercuryServer.com - (Our vBulletin forum Managed & hosted by MJWebhosting)

Comment

• Gene Steinberg
          • Dec 2006
          • 3.8.x

Originally posted by encryption