X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • vivebeauty
    • Jan 2006
    • 3.5.x

Shared with 50+ users online?

Is it true that most webhosts will kick you off if you have a vbulletin forum which is on a shared server that has around 50 or more members online at the same time?

I'm a bit of a newbie when it comes to webhosting....

My forum that I'm about to set up would have around 30-40 online at one time, if it grows past 50, what do I do? Upgrade to a VPS? Is this hard to do, or would the host automatically set everything up for me?

I was planning on going with A Small Orange on their medium shared plan, but if I go over 50+ users online I won't be able to upgrade because they arn't offering any VPS's at the moment. Grrr..I don't know if I should go with them anymore now, I'm upset because they have such a great reputation and I felt really secure by choosing them.
  • Zachery
    Former vBulletin Support
    • Jul 2002

50 active registered users online is about the limit of most shared hosting. However if you are expecting massive growth you should look into a VPS/Dedicated solution.

If you don't see your site growing past 40~ users online anytime soon I wouldn't worry.

If its 10 members most of the time and 30 spiders, then its a differnt issue.

While guests take up resources, generally not nearly the same ammount.

Comment

• encryption
      • May 2005

^^^ what he said
      www.MJWebhosting.com - (Vbulletin Forum Hosting)
      www.MercuryServer.com - (Our vBulletin forum Managed & hosted by MJWebhosting)

Comment

• cyburbia
        • Aug 2001
        • 3.7.x

Originally posted by Zachery
        If its 10 members most of the time and 30 spiders, then its a differnt issue.