n00b is trying to make his first ever .php script...

Collapse
X
 
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts
  • Anseur
    Senior Member
    • Jun 2004
    • 130
    • 4.1.x

    n00b is trying to make his first ever .php script...

    So being the sad geek I am, I decided to spend this Saturday evening making a start on learning some PHP for fun. Never written any before, only installed vb/mods and modified temples. So picked up some basic ideas of what is possible with that, but wanted to start from the begining anyway.

    So, I googled for some tutorials and found some here. I read parts one and two of that, then thought I would try something out based on some of what that has shown me so far.

    So here's what I did.

    PHP Code:
    <html>
    <head></head>
    <body> 

    <?php

    // define some stuff
    $name 'Bob';
    $job 'the builder';
    $canhefixit '1';
    $question 'Can he fix it?'


    // check if bob can fix it or not
    if ($canhefixit == '1')
    {
    $answer ='yes he can!';
    }
    else
    {
    $answer ='no sorry Bob can't fix this it's FUBAR';
    }

    echo 
    '$name $job $question';
    echo 
    '$name $job $answer';

    ?>

    </body>
    </html>
    Doesn't work of course, I get a "
    Parse error: parse error in C:\wamp\www\bob.php on line 21" from my local WAMP server when viewing it. (Which leads to related question, when apache gives a error like this, does it count blank/commented out lines? Is there anything it doesn't count?)

    Line 21 just contains the closing bracket for the else statement, so not sure what is wrong there. I guess I'm just making some kind of syntax mistake, but after re-reading the examples on the linked to page, I just can't seem to see it.

    Can anyone offer any advice?

    Thanks.
    MCO Raid Alliance - Shadowsong EU MCO guild home.
  • Anseur
    Senior Member
    • Jun 2004
    • 130
    • 4.1.x

    #2
    so, after looking at the syntax highlighting after posting here, I realised that the punctuatioin in the else code was closing the string before I intended, so I removed it.

    next I realised (I think!) that the contents echo dosent get parsed because it's inside the ' 's so it just prints out the words as written.

    so version 2:

    PHP Code:
    <html>
    <head></head>
    <body> 

    <?php

    // define some stuff
    $name 'Bob';
    $job 'the builder';
    $canhefixit '1';
    $question 'Can he fix it?'


    // check if bob can fix it or not
    if ($canhefixit == '1')
    {
    $answer ='yes he can!';
    }
    else
    {
    $answer ='no sorry Bob cant fix this its FUBAR';
    }

    Print 
    $name $job $question;
    Print 
    $name $job $answer;

    ?>

    </body>
    </html>
    Gives me a "Parse error: parse error in C:\wamp\www\bob.php on line 24" and I'm stuck again.
    MCO Raid Alliance - Shadowsong EU MCO guild home.

    Comment

    • BBR-APBT
      Senior Member
      • Nov 2005
      • 456

      #3
      You have a ' in that line either put a \ slash before the ' or use " for the enclosing brackets.

      Below is a working version.
      Code:
      <?php
      
      // define some stuff
      $name = 'Bob';
      $job = 'the builder';
      $canhefixit = '1';
      $question = 'Can he fix it?'; 
      
      
      // check if bob can fix it or not
      if ($canhefixit == '1')
      {
      $answer ="yes he can!";
      }
      else
      {
      $answer = "no sorry Bob can't fix this it's FUBAR";
      }
      
      echo "$name $job $question";
      echo "$name $job $answer";
      
      ?>
      My statements are based on the forums not the CMS as I do not and will not use it.
      If I wanted faulty software I would code it my self. When I pay I expect to get what is advertised. I do not feel I got what I paid for.
      In an honest opinion I feel I paid for vB 5.0 beta 7

      Comment

      • Anseur
        Senior Member
        • Jun 2004
        • 130
        • 4.1.x

        #4
        Thanks for the pointer!

        I shal continue to play.

        Also I think using notepad2 instead of windows notepad is probably for the best.
        MCO Raid Alliance - Shadowsong EU MCO guild home.

        Comment

        • Anseur
          Senior Member
          • Jun 2004
          • 130
          • 4.1.x

          #5
          Thanks again for your help. I went on to try a few other things, like pulling/pushing data from a database, and then read up on vb.org about integrating your own php into vBulliten. I might even have a go at writing a (very basic!) mod at some point. But regardless, learning the PHP is a lot of fun!
          MCO Raid Alliance - Shadowsong EU MCO guild home.

          Comment

          • .:.RG.:.
            New Member
            • Mar 2010
            • 14

            #6
            If you know other languages, you will probably also enjoy getting PHP to run as a CLI (Command Line Interface) and making programs that output to a console and such.

            In more advanced programming, you can try making all your bash scripts in PHP :P

            Comment

            • funmasti
              Senior Member
              • Oct 2009
              • 170
              • 3.8.x

              #7
              try to make more advance script
              Mastiya

              Comment

              widgetinstance 262 (Related Topics) skipped due to lack of content & hide_module_if_empty option.
              Working...