<<*Several Questions*>>

Collapse
X
 
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts
  • Dean C
    Senior Member
    • Mar 2002
    • 4571
    • 3.5.x

    <<*Several Questions*>>

    1/ How do i set up a new button set? I have one style and i have just made another style. I want to have different button sets for the 2 styles.

    i.e. style 1 = button set 1
    style 2 = button set 2

    2/ I want to set up a profile field where users can show their gender so basically they can tick male or female and not put in silly answers.

    3/ I have a very commited member who is constantly helping out the site but i don't want to give him COMPLETE access to the admin cp ...

    I'd like him to be able to edit all aspects of users and be able to edit the forums (i.e. make them, add moderators) but i don't want him to be able to change templates and styles and touch the vbulletin options etc ..

    4/ I have about three lines of space between the Report this post to a moderator and the IP: Logged links ... I would like to fix this and i have searched thru my postbit template for it and i can't find it

    If someone could help i'd be very grateful

    L8er
    Last edited by Dean C; Thu 4 Apr '02, 7:20am.
    Dean Clatworthy - Web Developer/Designer
  • Jake Bunce
    Senior Member
    • Dec 2000
    • 46598
    • 3.6.x

    #2
    1. create a new style in your admin cp: Admin CP -> Styles -> Add. upload the new images to a new directory in your forums directory (something like forum/images2). then go into the replacement variables of the new style in your admin cp: Admin CP -> Replacements -> Modify. change the {imagesfolder} variable to images2. that should do it. now any images you change for the new style just upload them to the images2 directory under the same name as the original image.

    2. currently there isn't a feature that allows you to set choices for a custom profile field. there is only a blank field that users fill in. i think this hack at www.vbulletin.org will do what you want: http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showt...threadid=30925 . for support on this hack you will need to post in the hack's thread. good luck with that.

    3. you can only do those things in the admin cp so he would need admin cp access to do those things. i searched for hacks to do this... i found one to enhance the mod cp but the attachment with the hack was deleted. you might post a hack request at www.vbulletin.org .

    4. you would need to edit your postbit template. the default template puts those two together in the bottom right of the cell with no blank lines separating them. they shouldn't be spaced out. it sounds like the default template is what you want in which case you can just revert the template to the original.

    Comment

    • Dean C
      Senior Member
      • Mar 2002
      • 4571
      • 3.5.x

      #3
      *bump*
      Dean Clatworthy - Web Developer/Designer

      Comment

      • Dean C
        Senior Member
        • Mar 2002
        • 4571
        • 3.5.x

        #4
        im sorry ... i bumped it when you must have been replying lol...

        thankyou for your help ...

        the problem with no.4 is that it still has the space on the default template on my first style ... but i don't want to revert to the default template on my other style because i have a highly customized postbit template..
        Dean Clatworthy - Web Developer/Designer

        Comment

        • Jake Bunce
          Senior Member
          • Dec 2000
          • 46598
          • 3.6.x

          #5
          if you post the code from your postbit here i might be able to fix it for you.

          Comment

          • Dean C
            Senior Member
            • Mar 2002
            • 4571
            • 3.5.x

            #6
            PHP Code:
            <table bgcolor="{pagebgcolor}" width="{tablewidth}" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" border="0"><tr><td width="10"><img width="10" height="1" src="{imagesfolder}/space.gif" alt=""></td><td width="100%"><!-- spacer -->

            <
            table cellpadding="{tableouterborderwidth}" cellspacing="0" border="0" bgcolor="{tablebordercolor}" {tableouterextrawidth="{contenttablewidth}" align="center"><tr><td>
            <
            table cellpadding="4" cellspacing="{tableinnerborderwidth}" border="0" {tableinnerextrawidth="100%">
            <
            tr>
                <
            td bgcolor="$post[backcolor]width="175" valign="top" nowrap>
                <
            a name="post$post[postid]"></a>
                
            $post[firstnewinsert]
                

            <
            normalfont><b>$post[username]</b></normalfont><br>
                <
            smallfont>$post[usertitle]</smallfont><br>
                
            $post[avatar]<p>
            <
            smallfont>
                
            Registered$post[joindate]<br>
                
            Location$post[field2]<br>
                
            Posts$post[posts]<br>
            Status$onlinestatus</smallfont>
                <
            br>
            $post[hasaward]</td>
                


                <
            td bgcolor="$post[backcolor]width="100%" valign="top">
                <
            smallfont>$post[icon] <b>$post[title]</b></smallfont>
                <
            p><normalfont>$post[message]</normalfont></p>
                
            $post[attachment]
                <
            p>$post[signature]</p>
                <
            p>$post[editedby]</p>
                            <
            br>$post[editedreason]

                <
            p align="right"><smallfont><a href="report.php?s=$session[sessionhash]&postid=$post[postid]">Report this post to a moderator</a> | $post[iplogged]</smallfont></p>
                </
            td>
            </
            tr>
            <
            tr>
                <
            td bgcolor="$post[backcolor]width="175" height="16" nowrap><smallfont>$post[foldericon]
                
            $post[postdate] <font color="{timecolor}">$post[posttime]</font></smallfont></td>
                
                <
            td bgcolor="$post[backcolor]width="100%" valign="middle" height="16">
                    <
            table width="100%" border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0">
                    <
            tr valign="bottom">
                        <
            td><smallfont>$post[profile$post[pmlink$post[useremail$post[homepage$post[search$post[buddy]
                        <!-- $ 
            post[icqicon] --> <!-- $ post[aimicon] --> <!-- $ post[yahooicon] --> 
                        </
            smallfont></td>
                        <
            td align="right" nowrap><smallfont>
                        <
            a href="editpost.php?s=$session[sessionhash]&action=editpost&postid=$post[postid]"><img src="{imagesfolder}/edit.gif" border="0" alt="Edit/Delete Message"></a>
                        <
            a href="newreply.php?s=$session[sessionhash]&action=newreply&postid=$post[postid]"><img src="{imagesfolder}/quote.gif" border="0" alt="Reply w/Quote"></a>
                        </
            smallfont></td>
                    </
            tr>
                    </
            table>
                </
            td>
            </
            tr>
            </
            table>
            </
            td></tr></table>

            <!-- 
            spacer --></td><td width="10"><img width="10" height="1" src="{imagesfolder}/space.gif" alt=""></td></tr></table
            Dean Clatworthy - Web Developer/Designer

            Comment

            • Jake Bunce
              Senior Member
              • Dec 2000
              • 46598
              • 3.6.x

              #7
              <br>$post[editedreason] is adding an extra line in there vs the default template. i don't see that $var in the default template. is that a hack? i think i've seen that one. at any rate, with stuff like that usually the "editedreason" template adds a <br> if it is called, otherwise that $var should parse to nothing if there is no edit reason. as it is right now that <br> is present whether there is an edit reason or not.

              Comment

              • Dean C
                Senior Member
                • Mar 2002
                • 4571
                • 3.5.x

                #8
                ahhhh lol ... how did i not see that ... ill change it to <p>$editedreason</p>

                hopefully that shud work
                Dean Clatworthy - Web Developer/Designer

                Comment

                widgetinstance 262 (Related Topics) skipped due to lack of content & hide_module_if_empty option.
                Working...