X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Baba Wawa
    • Feb 2009
    • 3.8.x

Is Photoshop necessary?

I'm just starting out, and have the most basic questions about how to make changes in the appearance of my vBulletin forum.

If I want to modify the icons and buttons for my forum, will I need to use Photoshop? Please say no, as I can't afford it! Would Photoshop Elements 5 be sufficient for that purpose?

The reason I ask is because all the files in the Graphics Development Kit are all in PSD format. (Can PS Elements 5 open those?)

Alternatively, could I use another image-editing program such as GIMP? Paint Shop Pro? even for PSD files?

Is there particular program that you could recommend as being inexpensive, but still adequate, especially in these early stages? I won't be doing anything too sophisticated, at least for a while.

Thank you very much for your help. It's much appreciated. I'm really quite at a loss as to where to go next.
    Last edited by Baba Wawa; Fri 17 Apr '09, 8:42pm.
  • Baba Wawa
    • Feb 2009
    • 3.8.x

Okay, I see in another thread that Steve Machol uses PhotoImpact Pro. Some folks use PS Elements, a few use PSP.

Thank you.

Comment

• eJM
      • Sep 2004
      • 3.8.x

The program I use isn't cheap, but it's not as expensive as Photoshop. Fireworks is also made by Adobe and will open PSD files. But realistically, you can use just about any graphics program you want, as long as you design all your own graphics - in other words, no editing of other graphics files.

Making your own isn't too difficult if you keep it simple. Take a look at all the style based images in vBulletin's own styles and see if you can come up with some replacements of your own. Keep file sizes very small and the dimensions you might want to keep the same also.

You can get free icons and buttons all over the Net - just search around for them. You can even ask people on graphics forums to make some for you. Some will do it for free, some want only a pittance.