height expand in Firefox/Safari

Collapse
X
 
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts
  • davidallsop
    New Member
    • Oct 2005
    • 25

    height expand in Firefox/Safari

    Hi all,

    Ive decided to embed my vB 3.5.0 into my website, ive already got the includes working thru the new plugin system and they are linked perfectly... www.buttonbash.com/forums/

    Now I am just having a small problem with the style.. it works fine on a PC using IE, but If you try it it Firefox or Safari on a Mac, the top bar containing the text 'Emulation resource providing free ROMs...' expands in height, same goes for the footer bar at the bottom and on the right menu, the boxes containing 88x31's grow in height from the 31 pixels they once were...

    I take it this is something to do with CSS, any help on how to get this to look the same in Firefox/Safari would be appreciated.

    Thanks.
  • cbiweb
    Senior Member
    • Apr 2004
    • 2658
    • 4.1.x

    #2
    Looks good from here on Mac Panther, Safari 1.3.1(v312.13). It appears you solved the problem?
    ~ Life isn't always fair, but you can be. ~

    Comment

    • davidallsop
      New Member
      • Oct 2005
      • 25

      #3
      No I haven't fixed the problem... attached is what I am seeing on OS X Tiger 10.4, do you see the same?
      Attached Files

      Comment

      • WoodiE
        Senior Member
        • May 2002
        • 300
        • 3.0.7

        #4
        To fix your header problem...


        FIND THIS CODE:

        Code:
        <td width="15%" background="/sources/images/bb_networkbar_1.gif">
        and REPLACE IT with this:

        Code:
        <td width="15%" [COLOR=Blue]valign="top"[/COLOR] background="/sources/images/bb_networkbar_1.gif">
        For your footer problem do this...


        FIND THIS CODE:

        Code:
        <td width="149"><img src="/sources/images/bb_5_1.gif" width="149" height="34"></td>
        and REPLACE IT with this:

        Code:
        <td width="149" [COLOR=Blue]valign="top"[/COLOR]><img src="/sources/images/bb_5_1.gif" width="149" height="34"></td>
        That should take care of it for you!


        -Michael
        Last edited by WoodiE; Fri 14 Oct '05, 8:00am.
        Debt-Made-Easy.com: Get out and stay out of debt.

        Comment

        • cbiweb
          Senior Member
          • Apr 2004
          • 2658
          • 4.1.x

          #5
          Originally posted by davidallsop
          No I haven't fixed the problem... attached is what I am seeing on OS X Tiger 10.4, do you see the same?
          I viewed your page in IE PC and in Safari Mac. No difference. I have OS X Panther, not Tiger; maybe that's the difference.
          ~ Life isn't always fair, but you can be. ~

          Comment

          • davidallsop
            New Member
            • Oct 2005
            • 25

            #6
            Michael - that isn't fixing the problem, im not sure if you guys realize what the problem is, have you looked at the screenshots attached ? These show what the problem is.

            It works fine in IE, just not in Safari/Firefox and probably not Netscape, but I havent tested in Netscape yet.

            Comment

            • WoodiE
              Senior Member
              • May 2002
              • 300
              • 3.0.7

              #7
              Originally posted by davidallsop
              Michael - that isn't fixing the problem, im not sure if you guys realize what the problem is, have you looked at the screenshots attached ? These show what the problem is.

              It works fine in IE, just not in Safari/Firefox and probably not Netscape, but I havent tested in Netscape yet.

              hmm that's odd, when I checked it here it fixed it. I'll look at it again for you today.


              -Michael
              Debt-Made-Easy.com: Get out and stay out of debt.

              Comment

              • cbiweb
                Senior Member
                • Apr 2004
                • 2658
                • 4.1.x

                #8
                Originally posted by davidallsop
                ...im not sure if you guys realize what the problem is, have you looked at the screenshots attached ? These show what the problem is.
                I looked at the screenshots, and did a comparison with my PC and with my Mac, and nothing looked different when comparing everything. It all looked the same. So it's hard to see the problem when I don't see a problem.
                ~ Life isn't always fair, but you can be. ~

                Comment

                • davidallsop
                  New Member
                  • Oct 2005
                  • 25

                  #9
                  can you send me a screenshot on your mac and your pc?

                  Comment

                  • cbiweb
                    Senior Member
                    • Apr 2004
                    • 2658
                    • 4.1.x

                    #10
                    I could, but this morning things look different again - as in better. Yesterday, in both IE PC and Safari, the little bomb icon in the upper left was vertically out of alignment, and the "Emulation resource..." text was not vertically centered. Today they are both fine - bomb not misaligned; text is centered. Same goes for the bottom of the page: yesterday out of whack, today not.

                    But...

                    Firefox PC is showing the bomb as okay, but the text is still not vertically centered. It is a few pixels too low. I don't have 'fox on the Mac so I can't say.

                    The 88x31's look fine in IE PC, but not in Firefox PC and Safari.
                    ~ Life isn't always fair, but you can be. ~

                    Comment

                    • WoodiE
                      Senior Member
                      • May 2002
                      • 300
                      • 3.0.7

                      #11
                      Originally posted by cbiweb
                      I could, but this morning things look different again - as in better. Yesterday, in both IE PC and Safari, the little bomb icon in the upper left was vertically out of alignment, and the "Emulation resource..." text was not vertically centered. Today they are both fine - bomb not misaligned; text is centered. Same goes for the bottom of the page: yesterday out of whack, today not.

                      But...

                      Firefox PC is showing the bomb as okay, but the text is still not vertically centered. It is a few pixels too low. I don't have 'fox on the Mac so I can't say.

                      The 88x31's look fine in IE PC, but not in Firefox PC and Safari.
                      I'm seeing the same thing - the header looks fine in regards to the bomb aligned now. I seen you did my first suggested fix but not the second fix which was for the footer and that footer image is still messed up on my end. Try doing my fix and see if that does anything for it.


                      -Michael
                      Debt-Made-Easy.com: Get out and stay out of debt.

                      Comment

                      • WoodiE
                        Senior Member
                        • May 2002
                        • 300
                        • 3.0.7

                        #12
                        Also if you want the "Emulation resource providing free ROMs, Emulators..." text to be centered in the header you need to change:

                        Code:
                        <p align="right">
                        Emulation resource providing free ROMs, Emulators, Tools, Utilities and Tutorials
                        &nbsp;|
                        TO:

                        Code:
                        <p align="[COLOR=Blue]center[/COLOR]">
                        Emulation resource providing free ROMs, Emulators, Tools, Utilities and Tutorials
                        &nbsp;|

                        -Michael
                        Debt-Made-Easy.com: Get out and stay out of debt.

                        Comment

                        widgetinstance 262 (Related Topics) skipped due to lack of content & hide_module_if_empty option.
                        Working...