WAP / Pocket PC skin: Mobile Alabama

Collapse
X
 
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts
  • sross
    Senior Member
    • Mar 2004
    • 660

    #16
    whoa, also noticed after installing this style that some of my pages went screwy, so I rebooted, went back to my site and they were still screwey, for eample the search page was using the pda style!? So in a panic I deleted the pda style and things went back to normal, any idea? I didn't have the pda style set to default or anything like that either. thanks!

    Comment

    • sross
      Senior Member
      • Mar 2004
      • 660

      #17
      sorry for another post, this style has screwed up the style in my photopost integration! ugh! i have no idea how this could have happened, the style was added as a 'new style' stupified, will try to fix it

      Comment

      • Pugzly
        Member
        • Oct 2002
        • 48

        #18
        I think building some autodetection into this is the best solution. Automatically redirect PDAs to that style...

        Comment

        • sross
          Senior Member
          • Mar 2004
          • 660

          #19
          any idea why this happened to my gallery after trying to add the style and remove the style? now my photopost gallery is screwed up
          Attached Files

          Comment

          • vBMechanic
            Senior Member
            • Jan 2004
            • 113
            • 3.0.0 Release Candidate 3

            #20
            Hi Sross, I think you have greater problems than just skin installation / removal. Perhaps some corrupt tables? Have you run a check / repair? A vB tech can correct me if I'm wrong, but I don't think installing or uninstalling an XML skin file could do this. Especially considering that this is probably the simplest skin out there; most of the templates are stripped down to almost nothing.

            >>I think building some autodetection into this is the best solution. Automatically redirect PDAs to that style...

            I posted the code for that somewhere else; let me find it.... I put this in global.php but I believe it can go in the php_include template as well. No, now that I think about it, it might be too late in that template.. I put it in global right below:

            PHP Code:
            else
              {
                  
            // no style specified - use default
                  
            $styleid $vboptions['styleid'];
              } 
            ADD:

            PHP Code:
              // BROWSER DETECT
              
              
            $browsers = array(
                  
            "Windows CE",
                  
            "WebTV",
                  
            "AvantGo",
                  
            "Blazer",
                  
            "PalmOS",
                  
            "lynx",
                  
            "Go.Web",
                  
            "Elaine",
                  
            "ProxiNet",
                  
            "ChaiFarer",
                  
            "Digital Paths",
                  
            "UP.Browser",
                  
            "Mazingo",
                  
            "Mobile",
                  
            "T68",
                  
            "Syncalot",
                  
            "NetFront",
                  
            "Danger",
                  
            "Symbian",
                  
            "Nokia",
                  
            "Xiino",
                  
            "AU-MIC",
                  
            "EPOC",
                  
            "BlackBerry",
                  
            "Wireless",
                  
            "Handheld"
                  
            );
              
              if(
            preg_match('/('.implode('|'$browsers).')/i'$_SERVER['HTTP_USER_AGENT'], $match))
              {
                  
            $mobile=1;
              }
              else if (isset(
            $_SERVER['HTTP_UA_OS']))
              {
                  if (
            strstr($_SERVER['HTTP_UA_OS'],"POCKET PC") !== false)
                  {
                      
            $mobile=1;
                  }
              }
              else
              {
                  
            $mobile=0;
              }
              
              if (
            $mobile==1)
              {
                  
            //echo "You are on a mobile device!";
                  
            $styleid='8';
              } 
            Change the styleid='8' to whatever your PDA style is.

            Comment

            • sross
              Senior Member
              • Mar 2004
              • 660

              #21
              "Hi Sross, I think you have greater problems than just skin installation / removal. Perhaps some corrupt tables? Have you run a check / repair? A vB tech can correct me if I'm wrong, but I don't think installing or uninstalling an XML skin file could do this. Especially considering that this is probably the simplest skin out there; most of the templates are stripped down to almost nothing."

              Hi, I tried a repair and optimize and no luck. I really have no idea what has caused it. I know for certain all I did was:

              upload the template as a 'new template'
              then went to the forum style id of the new template to look at it.
              I then went to my gallery page and it was white
              I then went back to the forum and it seemed ok, went to my forum search page and it was stripped down as if it were the mobile design
              I then deleted the design, my forum search page went back to normal, I went to the gallery page and now it's all hosed for some reason. http://www.apug.org/gallery

              Comment

              • pete_brady
                Member
                • Aug 2001
                • 41
                • 4.2.X

                #22
                http://www.thumped.com/bbs/?styleid=26

                Should be popular with the 9-5 crowd

                Comment

                • Erwin
                  Senior Member
                  • Jan 2002
                  • 2088

                  #23
                  Well done mate. Thanks for sharing.
                  Avatar Chat

                  Comment

                  • Silver_2000
                    Senior Member
                    • Mar 2002
                    • 555
                    • 4.2.X

                    #24
                    Does this work with Blackberrys ? Has anyone tested it ?

                    The BB browser seems to choke on PHP....
                    ( and on java script )

                    Doug
                    http://www.TALONClub.com/forum
                    http://www.prowltalk.com
                    http://www.nloc.net
                    http://www.nhtoc.com

                    Comment

                    • Silver_2000
                      Senior Member
                      • Mar 2002
                      • 555
                      • 4.2.X

                      #25
                      Well I added the Style and uploaded the auto select code - It all seems to work great on the blackberry ... One comment though - The blackberry was redirected to the PDA style automatically BUT the style NAME at the bottom still shows my default Style choice - I guess that is to make sure that when I log in with a PC I still get the right style ??
                      Froum is at http://www.talonclub.com/forum/index.php?styleid=22

                      Thanks for the effort - works great -

                      Doug
                      http://www.TALONClub.com/forum
                      http://www.prowltalk.com
                      http://www.nloc.net
                      http://www.nhtoc.com

                      Comment

                      • Pugzly
                        Member
                        • Oct 2002
                        • 48

                        #26
                        Originally posted by Silver_2000
                        Does this work with Blackberrys ? Has anyone tested it ?

                        The BB browser seems to choke on PHP....
                        ( and on java script )

                        Doug
                        How can a browser choke on server side scripting? It never sees it!

                        Comment

                        • vBMechanic
                          Senior Member
                          • Jan 2004
                          • 113
                          • 3.0.0 Release Candidate 3

                          #27
                          It was tested on a Blackberry but not sure which model.

                          Comment

                          • drumsy
                            Senior Member
                            • Jul 2001
                            • 439

                            #28
                            Will this skin work well for cell phones as well?

                            Comment

                            • dadymac
                              Member
                              • Oct 2001
                              • 34
                              • 4.2.X

                              #29
                              while the skin worked nicely, I couldnt load the page on my sony ericsson t610 (with tmobile), i used the global.php thingy too. The archives work well too as a way view a forum with cell phones.

                              Comment

                              • pete_brady
                                Member
                                • Aug 2001
                                • 41
                                • 4.2.X

                                #30
                                Originally posted by Silver_2000
                                Does this work with Blackberrys ? Has anyone tested it ?

                                The BB browser seems to choke on PHP....
                                ( and on java script )

                                Doug
                                works just great on my 7230 Blackberry.

                                it's pretty fantastic, actually.

                                Comment

                                widgetinstance 262 (Related Topics) skipped due to lack of content & hide_module_if_empty option.
                                Working...