CommunityServer importer experiences (and updates)

Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • bdemarzo
    • May 2008
    • 3.7.x

CommunityServer importer experiences (and updates)

I've got a rather large (500,000 posts or so) CommunityServer implementation that I can't wait to get away from.

My intent in this thread is to share both the experiences I've had migrating from CS to vBulletin in hope that it'll help others (and maybe help get some of my own problems answered).

A few notes first...
    • I am running CS 2.1, which is, for the most part, fully compatible with the current ImpEx (1.9).
    • My forums were originally running Snitz, which was migrated to CommunityServer, and data goes back about five years.
    • I am not a PHP programmer by trade, but I can re-engineer PHP and fight my way out of a PHP paper bag.
    • I am maintaining a copy of my ImpEx code in a private Subversion repository so I can track all the changes I make.

Some of the first issues I found were related to SQL querying issues.
    • Some of the queries in the CS ImpEx scripts use SQL2005-specific paging syntax. These can be rewritten (using temp tables or subqueries) but it's slower and sloppy. Some of them I have rewritten (when the original DB was on SQL2000; it's since been moved to SQL2005).
    • A few SQL queries in ImpEx don't use {$tableprefix} where it is needed. Search for cs_ and replace with {$tableprefix}.
    • CommunityServer has the dubious distinction of saving private messages as posts/threads. Queries for posts were updated to ignore these.
    • I added code to migrate private messages. Not incredibly hard since I know CS enough to write the SQL queries to pull them, and I can copy code from other systems to do the import. An initial test worked, but I want to test further before I post results.