Logging PHP Access Violations

Collapse
X
 
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts
  • Dabbler
    Senior Member
    • May 2004
    • 547
    • 3.6.x

    Logging PHP Access Violations

    Members report seeing:
    PHP has encountered an Access Violation at 7C8224B2

    but nothing is being reported in the php error log.

    How can I trap/record/diagnose this event?
    Last edited by Dabbler; Mon 11 Dec '06, 7:49am.
  • doug1
    Member
    • Aug 2005
    • 41
    • 4.2.X

    #2
    Have a look here:


    Comment

    • Dabbler
      Senior Member
      • May 2004
      • 547
      • 3.6.x

      #3
      Unfortunately, that thread has nothing about trapping/logging the event in question.

      Anyone with ideas on how to "trap/record/diagnose" the Access Violation event?

      Comment

      • Scott MacVicar
        Former vBulletin Developer
        • Dec 2000
        • 13286

        #4
        It's a Windows error though its usually resource related.

        I'll assume your running IIS to begin with and ISAPI too.

        What version of PHP?
        Scott MacVicar

        My Blog | Twitter

        Comment

        • TommyBALL
          Senior Member
          • Feb 2001
          • 425

          #5
          The Access Violation message comes from the PHP ISAPI module (php5isapi.dll) that is part of the PHP package. It is most likely triggered by resourcerelated bugs in one of its subcomponents (like php extensions etc).

          Although PHP itself is coded in a threadsafe manner, many of the extensions are not. Running a non-threadsafe component in the threadbased ISAPI environment is unfortunately a recepie for disaster. This is why MicroSoft and Zend are working closely together to implement a FastCGI component for IIS (a new preview of that is coming this month). CGI/FastCGI works better with the non-threadsafe coding habits used with many Linux/Unix environments.

          If you want to debug the issue yourself, I have dug up a link that might put you on the track.
          How to debug ISAPI DLLs


          Regards
          - Tommy
          MCP / MCSA / MCSE / MCT
          A few eggs short of a complete easter basket

          vB 4.0.5+ CMS (No hacks), Windows Server 2008 R2 Ent, IIS 7.5, PHP 5.3+ (FastCGI), WinCache, Memcached, MySQL 5.1.45

          Comment

          • Dabbler
            Senior Member
            • May 2004
            • 547
            • 3.6.x

            #6
            Originally posted by Scott MacVicar
            It's a Windows error though its usually resource related.

            I'll assume your running IIS to begin with and ISAPI too.

            What version of PHP?
            System profile here:

            Comment

            • Dabbler
              Senior Member
              • May 2004
              • 547
              • 3.6.x

              #7
              Originally posted by TommyBALL
              The Access Violation message comes from the PHP ISAPI module (php5isapi.dll) that is part of the PHP package. It is most likely triggered by resourcerelated bugs in one of its subcomponents (like php extensions etc).

              Although PHP itself is coded in a threadsafe manner, many of the extensions are not. Running a non-threadsafe component in the threadbased ISAPI environment is unfortunately a recepie for disaster. This is why MicroSoft and Zend are working closely together to implement a FastCGI component for IIS (a new preview of that is coming this month). CGI/FastCGI works better with the non-threadsafe coding habits used with many Linux/Unix environments.

              If you want to debug the issue yourself, I have dug up a link that might put you on the track.
              How to debug ISAPI DLLs


              Regards
              - Tommy
              Very helpful. THANKS!

              Comment

              • Dabbler
                Senior Member
                • May 2004
                • 547
                • 3.6.x

                #8
                Is there a list of which DLL's should be enabled in php.ini?

                I don't have them all enabled, but I do have maybe a dozen which have been turned on over the years. I'm thinking it would be useful to review this list as some of them probably date back to when we were using PHP 4. (not sure about that, tho')

                Using:
                CPU: dual 3.2 GHz Intel Xeons
                RAM: 4GB
                HD: 73GB SCSI x2 (RAID 1)

                OS: Windows Server 2k3
                Web: IIS 6.0 (isapi mode)
                W3WP: 4 processes recycled every 4 hours or every 10,000 requests

                PHP: 5.2.0 (from php.net, not from Zend)
                MySQL: 5.0.26 nt-community
                vB: 3.6.0

                Comment

                • TommyBALL
                  Senior Member
                  • Feb 2001
                  • 425

                  #9
                  Here are the extensions I use on my vBulletin dedicated server (specs in my sig)
                  Code:
                  extension=php_xcache.dll
                  extension=php_gd2.dll
                  extension=php_mbstring.dll
                  extension=php_mysql.dll
                  extension=php_mysqli.dll
                  Regards
                  - Tommy
                  MCP / MCSA / MCSE / MCT
                  A few eggs short of a complete easter basket

                  vB 4.0.5+ CMS (No hacks), Windows Server 2008 R2 Ent, IIS 7.5, PHP 5.3+ (FastCGI), WinCache, Memcached, MySQL 5.1.45

                  Comment

                  • Dabbler
                    Senior Member
                    • May 2004
                    • 547
                    • 3.6.x

                    #10
                    Are you using FastCGI or ISAPI?

                    xcache is for a PHP accelerator?

                    And where do you use mysqli?

                    Comment

                    • TommyBALL
                      Senior Member
                      • Feb 2001
                      • 425

                      #11
                      Originally posted by Dabbler
                      Are you using FastCGI or ISAPI?
                      ISAPI
                      Originally posted by Dabbler
                      xcache is for a PHP accelerator?
                      Yes
                      Originally posted by Dabbler
                      And where do you use mysqli?
                      With vBulletin


                      Regards
                      - Tommy
                      MCP / MCSA / MCSE / MCT
                      A few eggs short of a complete easter basket

                      vB 4.0.5+ CMS (No hacks), Windows Server 2008 R2 Ent, IIS 7.5, PHP 5.3+ (FastCGI), WinCache, Memcached, MySQL 5.1.45

                      Comment

                      • Dabbler
                        Senior Member
                        • May 2004
                        • 547
                        • 3.6.x

                        #12
                        Using mySQL 5.0 and PHP 5.2.
                        Do you recommend mysqli??

                        Comment

                        • TommyBALL
                          Senior Member
                          • Feb 2001
                          • 425

                          #13
                          Originally posted by Dabbler
                          Using mySQL 5.0 and PHP 5.2.
                          Do you recommend mysqli??
                          JelSoft recommends mysqli in the documentation

                          MySQLi is an improved database layer for PHP 5 and MySQL 4.1+. It is strongly recommended that MySQLi be used if your MySQL server is at version 4.1 or higher.
                          MCP / MCSA / MCSE / MCT
                          A few eggs short of a complete easter basket

                          vB 4.0.5+ CMS (No hacks), Windows Server 2008 R2 Ent, IIS 7.5, PHP 5.3+ (FastCGI), WinCache, Memcached, MySQL 5.1.45

                          Comment

                          • Dabbler
                            Senior Member
                            • May 2004
                            • 547
                            • 3.6.x

                            #14
                            The VB manual on the config file at:

                            states regarding the $config['Database']['dbtype'] setting:
                            If you are using PHP5 in combination with MySQL 4.1.x you may want to change this variable to 'mysqli'
                            which implies to me that it is (a) specific to MySQL 4.1.x and (b) optional. Hence my question.

                            Comment

                            • Colin F
                              Senior Member
                              • May 2004
                              • 17689

                              #15
                              It's optional, but if you have the possibility, then we recommend it.
                              Best Regards
                              Colin Frei

                              Please don't contact me per PM.

                              Comment

                              widgetinstance 262 (Related Topics) skipped due to lack of content & hide_module_if_empty option.
                              Working...