Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • letsconnect
    • Sep 2005

vB and Mac OSX?

I'd like to set up a forum (at present, I'm running a free ProBoards forum, but hate the fact that it could be deleted for any perceived "transgression" of ProBoards rules and regulations). vBulletin is the best forum software I've come across yet. However, I'm on Mac OSX and I read somewhere that vB software is only compatible with Windows and UNIX.

What's the story?? And - is it difficult to set up a vBulletin board (I've got zero knowledge of setting up a domain, getting a server, FTP, etc.)?

Thanks!
  • digitalpoint
    • Mar 2004
    • 4.1.x

Mac OS X is a flavor of *nix. Either way, it runs flawlessly on Mac OS X. http://forums.digitalpoint.com is being run on Mac OS X.
    Sphinx Search for vBulletin 4: https://marketplace.digitalpoint.com...tin-4.870/item
    Someone send me a message on Twitter when this site is usable again. https://twitter.com/digitalpoint

Comment

• letsconnect
      • Sep 2005

That's a relief!!

For a total and utter newbie, how do I go about this? I'd imagine the first step is to get a domain name (with someone like GoDaddy, say), and then a webhosting plan that supports MySQL and php?? And I suppose I'd need an FTP programme like CuteFTP for Mac And then? If someone in the know could give a *rough* walk-through of what's involved, in layman's terms - I really don't know what I'm in for, and quite frankly, even the FAQ section is gobble-dee-gook to me...

Comment

• Zachery
        Former vBulletin Support
        • Jul 2002

The install docs are really stright forward, if you need help we are here

You don't specificly need an ftp program for a mac, you have the ability to transfer files builtin via Finder.

Baiscly, your going to do the following in some sort of order like I present.
        1. make a database, your host should have some tools to do this.