Need help coding forum!

Collapse
X
 
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts
  • digitalninja42
    New Member
    • Sep 2005
    • 6
    • 3.0.8

    Need help coding forum!

    Hi i am a graphic designer and i know a little about web design but nothing of php.

    I need somebody to create a forum for me that looks has the same style/consistency to the rest of my site. Attached is a jpeg of an example of what colors need to be used. I can pay for this to be done, i can also provide all the images/info.

    PM me if you are interested.
    Thanks.

    (Oh and if this is located in the wrong place moderators please move it, sorry)
    Attached Files
  • KingSpade
    Senior Member
    • Aug 2005
    • 538
    • 3.5.x

    #2
    In all honesty, you don't need to know PHP in order to achieve the design, only HTML. All of vBulletin's templates are editable via the Admin CP and are editable in HTML format.

    For the first 2 parts, the logo and the DJ image you would edit the header template, the google ads section would be the footer template and the middle section would be a combination of the FORUMHOME, FORUMDISPLAY and their child templates.

    Comment

    • digitalninja42
      New Member
      • Sep 2005
      • 6
      • 3.0.8

      #3
      Thank you king spade!
      I have been trying to find this answer out for weeks.
      I didnt realize it was that easy.
      So I just paste in the HTML in the respective sections in the admin control panel?

      Comment

      • KingSpade
        Senior Member
        • Aug 2005
        • 538
        • 3.5.x

        #4
        vBulletin makes editing the actual look of the software easy, so essentially, you are just copying and pasting your HTML in and editing the HTML already presented.

        A quick and dirty overview is as follows (as far as what is where):

        header - This template controls the 'top' of each page, it is global and where you will find the logo text and the opening of the actual forum structure.

        footer - This template too, like the header template, is global and controls the primary footer display from the time display down (i.e. The time is .... GMT).

        FORUMHOME - This template is what controls the display of index.php. Keep in mind the forumhome_ templates also play a part in the display, hence why they are listed under FORUMHOME. This allows you a finer tuning aspect.

        FORUMDISPLAY - This template controls how the forum displays when you enter a forum and view the thread listings. Like FORUMHOME, it too has child templates which further allow you to control how things appear.

        navbar - This template (under Navigation / Breadcrumb Templates) controls how the links you see at the top of the page appear (under the header) - such as UserCP, Register and so forth.



        I know that is a rather quick rundown of what you can edit and it is nowhere near listing everything you can edit, but the above templates and their child templates are the ones you will need to edit to achieve that design you are looking to do.

        Comment

        • digitalninja42
          New Member
          • Sep 2005
          • 6
          • 3.0.8

          #5
          King Spade, you are awesome!
          You quite possibly just saved me hundreds of dollars.

          I got a quick question for you. For some reason I cant include the three images (component) in my header like I want to. Can I only have one image in my header, or is it possible to have more?

          I am probably not copying the code correctly.




          Here is what it looks like:


          <html>

          <head>
          <meta http-equiv="content-type" content="text/html;charset=iso-8859-1">
          <meta name="generator" content="Adobe GoLive">
          <title>logo</title>
          </head>

          <body>
          <body bgcolor="#e7e3e7">
          <csobj h="247" occur="74" t="Component"

          w="978"

          csref="/public_html/official-dj/DJ Forum/web-data/Components/topComponent.html">

          <table width="64" border="0"

          cellspacing="0" cellpadding="0" align="center">
          <tr>
          <td><img

          src="/public_html/official-dj/DJ Forum/web-content/sites/LOGO.gif" alt="" height="60" width="760"

          align="middle" border="0"></td>
          </tr>

          <tr>
          <td><img

          src="/public_html/official-dj/DJ Forum/web-content/sites/LINKbannertop.gif" alt="" height="40"

          width="760" usemap="#LINKbannertop1e2f66d"

          align="middle" border="0"><map

          name="LINKbannertop1e2f66d"><area shape="rect"

          coords="291,10,350,28" alt=""><area shape="rect"

          coords="235,9,281,28" href="sites/gallery/gallery.html"

          alt=""><area shape="rect" coords="181,9,228,28"

          href="http://www.official-dj.com/forum" alt=""><area

          shape="rect" coords="121,10,171,28"

          href="sites/tutorials/tutorials.html" alt=""><area

          shape="rect" coords="64,12,109,28"

          href="sites/review/review.html" alt=""><area

          shape="rect" coords="14,9,56,28" href="index.html"

          alt=""></map></td>
          </tr>
          <tr>
          <td><img

          src="/public_html/official-dj/DJ Forum/web-content/sites/topTTimage2.jpg" alt="" height="116"

          width="760" align="middle" border="0"></td>
          </tr>
          <td><img

          src="clear.gif" alt="" height="5" width="760"

          align="middle" border="0"></td>
          </tr>
          </table>
          </body>
          </html>
          Last edited by digitalninja42; Tue 13 Sep '05, 10:03pm.

          Comment

          • Bad Bunny
            Senior Member
            • Apr 2002
            • 428
            • 3.7.x

            #6
            Your different templates can have whatever html you want, with any number of images that you want. The way vBulletin divides up the page is different depending on the page you are viewing. Most all pages have a header, navbar, and footer, with different things in the middle.

            The html you have copied has a whole lot of code that won't go in the header, like the body and html tags, which would be in other templates. Oh, I also doubt you will need to link to the public_html folder, since it is commonly the name of the public folder that people see when at your site already.
            V1 Bad Bunny Emoticons > (For Dark BGs)
            Squarehead V1 Emoticons -
            Let Users select postbit style!

            Comment

            • KingSpade
              Senior Member
              • Aug 2005
              • 538
              • 3.5.x

              #7
              Look at the header template and view the original coding there, you will not be able to add a full page of coding to the header (i.e with <html>, <head>, <body>, etc). You simply want to keep it to what the header template actually contains and gradually add your own coding to the template.

              Look at the table in the header template and modify that table to suit your needs. You can include more than one image in the header, or as many as you wish for that matter, though leave the additional coding tags out because the other templates automatically add the <html> tags for you .

              Comment

              • KingSpade
                Senior Member
                • Aug 2005
                • 538
                • 3.5.x

                #8
                Just as a general reference as well, I would personally use something such as EditPlus 2.0 to code with so long as you are comfortable modifying HTML code by hand. Adobe GoLive is nice, though as you can see, it has added the HTML coding for you which is why your header may be appearing off.

                Comment

                • smoknz28
                  Senior Member
                  • Jul 2005
                  • 121

                  #9
                  Digital, not trying to hijack your post here...but your post pretty much nails what I'm going through right now.

                  KingSpade and anyone else who may be able to assist....

                  I am VERY new at vBulletin, as in just a couple days. I've been running UBB Threads for a few years.

                  I'm still trying to figure out all these templates... Now, if I follow correctly, I need to go to: AdminCP > Styles & Templates > Style Manager > << >> (Expand Tables) > then scroll to where I find 'header' and double click on it to edit it?

                  If this is correct....I've done this... What I'm trying to do is add in php or javascript code for my phpAdsNew banners for my sponsors. I just can't figure this out though.

                  Here's what I have in my header template:

                  <!-- logo -->
                  <a name="top"></a>
                  <table border="0" width="$stylevar[outertablewidth]" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" align="center">
                  <tr>
                  <td align="$stylevar[left]"><a href="$vboptions[forumhome].php$session[sessionurl_q]"><img src="$stylevar[titleimage]" border="0" alt="$vboptions[bbtitle]" /></a></td>
                  <td align="$stylevar[right]">
                  &nbsp;
                  </td>
                  </tr>
                  </table>
                  <!-- /logo -->
                  <!-- content table -->
                  $spacer_open


                  I am trying to add this php code:

                  <?php
                  if (@include(getenv('DOCUMENT_ROOT').'/phpadsnew/phpadsnew.inc.php')) {
                  if (!isset($phpAds_context)) $phpAds_context = array();
                  $phpAds_raw = view_raw ('zone:9', 0, '_blank', 'http://www.g-forcesuspension.com', '0', $phpAds_context);
                  echo $phpAds_raw['html'];
                  }
                  ?>


                  - OR - This Javascript:

                  <script language='JavaScript' type='text/javascript' src='http://www.f-bodyhideout.com/phpadsnew/adx.js'></script>
                  <script language='JavaScript' type='text/javascript'>
                  <!--
                  if (!document.phpAds_used) document.phpAds_used = ',';
                  phpAds_random = new String (Math.random()); phpAds_random = phpAds_random.substring(2,11);

                  document.write ("<" + "script language='JavaScript' type='text/javascript' src='");
                  document.write ("http://www.f-bodyhideout.com/phpadsnew/adjs.php?n=" + phpAds_random);
                  document.write ("&amp;what=zone:9&amp;source=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.g-forcesuspension.com&amp;target=_blank");
                  document.write ("&amp;exclude=" + document.phpAds_used);
                  if (document.referrer)
                  document.write ("&amp;referer=" + escape(document.referrer));
                  document.write ("'><" + "/script>");
                  //-->
                  </script><noscript><a href='http://www.f-bodyhideout.com/phpadsnew/adclick.php?n=a8ead23b' target='_blank'><img src='http://www.f-bodyhideout.com/phpadsnew/adview.php?what=zone:9&amp;source=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.g-forcesuspension.com&amp;n=a8ead23b' border='0' alt=''></a></noscript>


                  Any help on this is greatly appreciated....
                  Mark

                  Comment

                  • KingSpade
                    Senior Member
                    • Aug 2005
                    • 538
                    • 3.5.x

                    #10
                    Technically, while you can use conditionals in templates, you cannot use standard PHP, which is why the PHP code you are attempting to add above will not work in the header template. However, try the following using the javascript.

                    Please keep in mind, I don't have phpAdsNew installed and cannot test this for you.

                    Code:
                    <!-- logo -->
                    <a name="top"></a>
                    <table border="0" width="$stylevar[outertablewidth]" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" align="center">
                    	<tr>
                    		<td align="$stylevar[left]"><a href="$vboptions[forumhome].php$session[sessionurl_q]"><img src="$stylevar[titleimage]" border="0" alt="$vboptions[bbtitle]" /></a></td>
                    		<td align="$stylevar[right]">
                    		
                    		<script language='JavaScript' type='text/javascript' src='http://www.f-bodyhideout.com/phpadsnew/adx.js'></script>
                    		<script language='JavaScript' type='text/javascript'>
                    		<!--
                    		if (!document.phpAds_used) document.phpAds_used = ',';
                    		phpAds_random = new String (Math.random()); phpAds_random = phpAds_random.substring(2,11);
                    
                    		document.write ("<" + "script language='JavaScript' type='text/javascript' src='");
                    		document.write ("http://www.f-bodyhideout.com/phpadsnew/adjs.php?n=" + phpAds_random);
                    		document.write ("&amp;what=zone:9&amp;source=http%3A%2F%2Fwww. g-forcesuspension.com&amp;target=_blank");
                    		document.write ("&amp;exclude=" + document.phpAds_used);
                    
                    		if (document.referrer)
                    		document.write ("&amp;referer=" + escape(document.referrer));
                    		document.write ("'><" + "/script>");
                    		//-->
                    		</script><noscript><a href='http://www.f-bodyhideout.com/phpadsnew/adclick.php?n=a8ead23b' target='_blank'><img src='http://www.f-bodyhideout.com/phpadsnew/adview.php?what=zone:9&amp;source=http%3A%2F%2Fwww .g-forcesuspension.com&amp;n=a8ead23b' border='0' alt=''></a></noscript>
                    
                    		</td>
                    </tr>
                    </table>
                    <!-- /logo -->
                    <!-- content table -->
                    $spacer_open

                    Replace your entire header template with the above.

                    Comment

                    widgetinstance 262 (Related Topics) skipped due to lack of content & hide_module_if_empty option.
                    Working...