[HowTo] [3.0.0] Put the table "indexer" below each category.

Collapse
X
 
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts
  • Floris
    Senior Member
    • Dec 2001
    • 37767

    [HowTo] [3.0.0] Put the table "indexer" below each category.

    [HowTo] [3.0.0] Put the table "indexer" below each category.

    Title: Put the table "indexer" below each category.

    Version: 1.0.0
    Category: Template Modification for vBulletin version 3.0.0 (Gold)
    Author: Floris (http://www.vBulletin.nl/)
    Description: This modification removes the "Table indexer" bar from above the forum (where it behaves as guideline) and places it below each category. It will get optimized so the width are corrected and looks more professional. When you collapse a category it will get collapsed too. Cleaning up the design.

    Installation instructions

    Goto the Admin Control Panel > Styles & Templates > Style Manager and from the dropdown box select "Edit Templates" to expand the style you want to modify.

    Select the "Forum Home Templates" and expand the group.

    Select the template "FORUMHOME".

    Find the following code:
    Code:
    <tr align="center">
    <td class="thead">&nbsp;</td>
    <td class="thead" width="100%" align="$stylevar[left]">$vbphrase[forum]</td>
    <td class="thead" width="175">$vbphrase[last_post]</td>
    <td class="thead">$vbphrase[threads]</td>
    <td class="thead">$vbphrase[posts]</td>
    <if condition="$vboptions['showmoderatorcolumn']">
    <td class="thead">$vbphrase[moderator]</td>
    </if>
    </tr>
    And delete it.

    Save the FORUMHOME template.

    Select the template "forumhome_forumbit_level1_nopost".

    Find the following code:

    Code:
    $childforumbits
    Above this, on a new line, add this code:
    Code:
    <tr align="center">
    <td class="thead" width="38">&nbsp;</td>
    <td class="thead" align="$stylevar[left]">$vbphrase[forum]</td>
    <td class="thead" width="240">$vbphrase[last_post]</td>
    <td class="thead" width="70">$vbphrase[threads]</td>
    <td class="thead" width="70">$vbphrase[posts]</td>
    <if condition="$vboptions['showmoderatorcolumn']">
    <td class="thead" width="120">$vbphrase[moderator]</td>
    </if>
    </tr>
    Save the forumhome_forumbit_level1_nopost template.

    You are done!
    Attached Files
    Last edited by Floris; Wed 14 Apr '04, 4:40am.
  • kyk0
    Member
    • Jul 2003
    • 86
    • 3.0.0 'Gold'

    #2
    Cool no more conditionals.

    Personally 240/70 is too fat.
    Australia's Design Community

    Comment

    • tiedyetoga
      New Member
      • Aug 2003
      • 26
      • 2.3.0

      #3
      I'm having some trouble with this. Would anyone be willing to help me out?

      Thanks.

      Comment

      • Floris
        Senior Member
        • Dec 2001
        • 37767

        #4
        Originally posted by kyk0
        Cool no more conditionals.

        Personally 240/70 is too fat.
        These values can be changed by anybody to anything. It is just a width that covers all browsers and doesn't break,etc.

        Comment

        • Deaconxgp
          Senior Member
          • Dec 2003
          • 224
          • 3.0.0 'Gold'

          #5
          is there a way to get the "indexer" to align correctly? the Forum, Last Post, Threads, Posts is misaligned somehow...

          I have the columns hack installed and when I do this it makes the indexer off a bit...when i change values under one it affects everything..like changing the value to simply shorten the width of the "Threads" will stretch Threads, Last Post, and the Forum.
          Unscripted 360 - Xbox 360 Community Podcast

          Comment

          • Floris
            Senior Member
            • Dec 2001
            • 37767

            #6
            Make sure the other hack widths are set the same as the widths in this code.

            Comment

            • Deaconxgp
              Senior Member
              • Dec 2003
              • 224
              • 3.0.0 'Gold'

              #7
              ok...i'll try that Floris.
              Unscripted 360 - Xbox 360 Community Podcast

              Comment

              • Deaconxgp
                Senior Member
                • Dec 2003
                • 224
                • 3.0.0 'Gold'

                #8
                this is what it looks like Floris...i dont' know what to set them as...see how the Forum and Posts indexer under the subcolumns aren't fitting properly and it has caused the Threads indexer to strethc.

                This is my level1 no post after i tried different width values etc.

                PHP Code:
                <tbody>
                <
                tr>
                <
                td class="tcat" colspan="<if condition="$vboptions[showmoderatorcolumn]">6<else />5</if>">
                <
                a style="float:$stylevar[right]href="#top" onclick="return toggle_collapse('forumbit_$forumid')"><img id="collapseimg_forumbit_$forumidsrc="$stylevar[imgdir_button]/collapse_tcat{$collapseimg_forumid}.gif" alt="" border="0" /></a>
                <
                a href="forumdisplay.php?$session[sessionurl]f=$forum[forumid]">$forum[title]</a>
                <if 
                condition="$show['forumdescription']"><div class="smallfont">$forum[description]</div></if>
                <if 
                condition="$show['subforums']"><div class="smallfont"><strong>$vbphrase[subforums]</strong>: $forum[subforums]</div></if>
                </
                td>
                </
                tr>
                </
                tbody>
                <if 
                condition="$childforumbits"
                <
                tbody id="collapseobj_forumbit_$forumidstyle="{$collapseobj_forumid}"
                <if 
                condition="$forum['subforumcolumns'] > 1"
                    <
                tr align="center"
                     <
                td colspan="2" class="thead" width="100%" align="$stylevar[left]">$vbphrase[forum]</td
                         <
                td class="thead" width="70">$vbphrase[posts]</td
                         <
                td class="thead" width="100%" align="$stylevar[left]">$vbphrase[forum]</td
                     <
                td class="thead" width="70">$vbphrase[posts]</td
                     </
                tr
                    <
                tr
                        <
                td class="alt1" colspan="5"
                <
                table style="border: none; width: 100%;"
                            
                $childforumbits 
                </table
                        </
                td
                    </
                tr
                <else /> 
                <
                tr align="center"
                     <
                td class="thead">&nbsp;</td
                     <
                td class="thead" width="100%" align="$stylevar[left]">$vbphrase[forum]</td
                         <
                td class="thead" width="200">$vbphrase[last_post]</td
                         <
                td class="thead" width="70">$vbphrase[threads]</td
                     <
                td class="thead" width="70">$vbphrase[posts]</td
                 
                    </
                tr
                 
                    
                $childforumbits 
                </if> 
                </if> 
                </
                tbody
                Attached Files
                Unscripted 360 - Xbox 360 Community Podcast

                Comment

                • Arkham
                  Senior Member
                  • Mar 2001
                  • 2233
                  • 4.1.x

                  #9
                  Originally posted by Floris
                  [HowTo] [3.0.0] Put the table "indexer" below each category.
                  Ah, already did this. One of my first modifcations. Thanks for posting it though, it makes it easier for everyone to do it. I think it should be standard in the default templates.

                  Comment

                  • Deaconxgp
                    Senior Member
                    • Dec 2003
                    • 224
                    • 3.0.0 'Gold'

                    #10
                    what do you think it could be Floris? (or anyone else.)
                    Unscripted 360 - Xbox 360 Community Podcast

                    Comment

                    • Floris
                      Senior Member
                      • Dec 2001
                      • 37767

                      #11
                      Your other templates have been modified and you didn't adapt my code to that. Also, there seems to be a hack in place that puts stuff in colomns, obviously that won't together.

                      Revert the other forumhome templates and re-apply my code to make this work. Or adapt it yourself to the other modified templates.

                      My template mods are made for unhacked work, for one could not possible be compatible with all hacks.

                      Comment

                      • robb1
                        Senior Member
                        • Jul 2004
                        • 135

                        #12
                        thanks alot Floris, been looking everywhere for this. Works like a charm!
                        If any of you need a working example see my forum: http://forums.miscforums.com

                        Comment

                        widgetinstance 262 (Related Topics) skipped due to lack of content & hide_module_if_empty option.
                        Working...