+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Can somebody just do this??

Threaded View

  1. #1
    Senior Member marocnl has disabled reputation
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    353

    Can somebody just do this??

    I just saw that somebody uses my domainname as one of the adwords on google. So everytime someone types in my domainname he gets the banner of another site displayed in the right corner.

    Why does Google accept this? Isn't this illegal?

  2. #2
    vB3Dev.Com
    Guest
    Yes it is illegal. Impersonating someone or another company/entity is illegal.

    Max

  3. #3
    vBulletin Team Wayne Luke is a name known to all Wayne Luke is a name known to all Wayne Luke is a name known to all Wayne Luke is a name known to all Wayne Luke is a name known to all Wayne Luke is a name known to all Wayne Luke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    So. California
    Age
    38
    Posts
    34,676
    Blog Entries
    1
    Actually it depends on your domain name... If your domain name is made up of common words then no it is not illegal. Google's advertising works on keywords and they can be compound words. Google does it because they need to make money.

    If the site is selling itself to your customers as you then it is illegal. If they are just capitalizing on keywords to compete with you then it isn't.
    Wayne Luke
    Get started with your own social network.
    Purchase and download vBulletin today.
    vBCodex (Running vB 4.0 Suite) - Take your vBulletin Community to the next level. Modification tips, tricks and support.

  4. #4
    Senior Member marocnl has disabled reputation
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    353
    Quote Originally Posted by Wayne Luke
    Actually it depends on your domain name... If your domain name is made up of common words then no it is not illegal. Google's advertising works on keywords and they can be compound words. Google does it because they need to make money.

    If the site is selling itself to your customers as you then it is illegal. If they are just capitalizing on keywords to compete with you then it isn't.
    It's like i was to buy the keyword vbulletin.com and have my ad show in the right corner whenever somebody searches on that word.

    My domainname is a name of a country --> maroc.nl (the .NL is the extension in Holland for top-level-domains). So unless he is offering maroc.nl, he is just trying to steel visitors by impersonating he has anything to do with maroc.nl.

  5. #5
    vBulletin Team Wayne Luke is a name known to all Wayne Luke is a name known to all Wayne Luke is a name known to all Wayne Luke is a name known to all Wayne Luke is a name known to all Wayne Luke is a name known to all Wayne Luke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    So. California
    Age
    38
    Posts
    34,676
    Blog Entries
    1
    When I search at google for the word "Maroc" I get a perfume ad on the left. There are no premium ads at all.

    When I search for "maroc.nl" there are no ads at all on the page.

    This is at www.google.com.
    Wayne Luke
    Get started with your own social network.
    Purchase and download vBulletin today.
    vBCodex (Running vB 4.0 Suite) - Take your vBulletin Community to the next level. Modification tips, tricks and support.

  6. #6
    Senior Member ffaBen has disabled reputation
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    UK
    Age
    27
    Posts
    156
    Quote Originally Posted by Wayne Luke
    When I search at google for the word "Maroc" I get a perfume ad on the left. There are no premium ads at all.

    When I search for "maroc.nl" there are no ads at all on the page.

    This is at www.google.com.
    http://www.google.nl/search?q=maroc....gle+zoeken&lr=
    Although it all looks double dutch to me.... oh wait!
    FFAddicts: [site|forums]

  7. #7
    Senior Member marocnl has disabled reputation
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    353
    Quote Originally Posted by Wayne Luke
    When I search at google for the word "Maroc" I get a perfume ad on the left. There are no premium ads at all.

    When I search for "maroc.nl" there are no ads at all on the page.

    This is at www.google.com.
    Well, it's only displayed on google.nl.

  8. #8
    vBulletin Team Wayne Luke is a name known to all Wayne Luke is a name known to all Wayne Luke is a name known to all Wayne Luke is a name known to all Wayne Luke is a name known to all Wayne Luke is a name known to all Wayne Luke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    So. California
    Age
    38
    Posts
    34,676
    Blog Entries
    1
    Same exact advertising shows up on a simple Maroc search at google.nl. Simply seems to be that they bought the keyword maroc. When you search for maroc.nl in the standard text box, you are actually searching for three things: maroc, nl, maroc.nl.

    Since you said that your domain name is the native name of a country there is really nothing you can do about it. You cannot trademark a country name.
    Wayne Luke
    Get started with your own social network.
    Purchase and download vBulletin today.
    vBCodex (Running vB 4.0 Suite) - Take your vBulletin Community to the next level. Modification tips, tricks and support.

+ Reply to Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts