How do I ADD the Strike-out Icon to the Quick Edit tool-bar?

Collapse
X
 
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts
  • David Copeland
    Senior Member
    • May 2000
    • 1354
    • 4.2.5

    How do I ADD the Strike-out Icon to the Quick Edit tool-bar?

    How do I ADD the Strike-out Icon to the Quick Edit tool-bar?

    We have the Strike Out icon already in the Advanced Edit, but we need to also have it show up in the Quick Edit box (which is the first box when clicking on Edit).

    DAVID COPELAND
    Licensed VB Holder Since 2000
    Celebrating 22 Years with VB
  • Jose Amaral Rego
    Senior Member
    • Feb 2005
    • 11058
    • 1.1.x

    #2
    This should guide you into adding this new custom feature.

    Comment

    • David Copeland
      Senior Member
      • May 2000
      • 1354
      • 4.2.5

      #3
      Originally posted by Jose Amaral Rego
      This should guide you into adding this new custom feature.
      http://www.vbulletin.com/forum/showthread.php?t=202531
      The above link instructed me to:

      If you want to change the default smilie "button" that this uses, replace the image located at /images/editor/smilie.gif.
      I followed the instructions given in the above link where it said to replace the default smilie with the item I want (the strike out which is /strikethrough.gif), but instead it gave me a clickable Smilie Box to open. What should I remove in the following code so as to have the strikethrough only appear and not the smilie box?

      PHP Code:
      <td><img src="$stylevar[imgdir_editor]/separator.gif" width="6" height="20" alt="" /></td>
      <
      td><a href="#" onclick="vB_Editor['$editorid'].open_smilie_window(smiliewindow_x, smiliewindow_y); return false">
      <
      img src="$stylevar[imgdir_editor]/strikethrough.gif" alt="Smilies" border="0" /></a></td

      Here is a sample of my current Quick Reply with the wrong smilie box:
      Curious, I open a thread and to exit I must hit browser back button twice, does this seem normal?

      DAVID COPELAND
      Licensed VB Holder Since 2000
      Celebrating 22 Years with VB

      Comment

      • Jose Amaral Rego
        Senior Member
        • Feb 2005
        • 11058
        • 1.1.x

        #4
        You would need to add in your code and not use something to open smilies. You will need a plugin to get this part to work correctly, unless you have made file edits and more template edits. It is not that simple to just add in and replace parts of the code with something else if it still is referring to same action to pull from.

        This is custom coding and the drill will be to ask over at vBulletin.org and or make a request in 'Suggestion Forum' to have customized bbcode be added easier to quickreply toolbar.

        Code:
        <td><a href="#" onclick="vB_Editor['$editorid'].open_smilie_window(smiliewindow_x, smiliewindow_y); return false">

        Comment

        • David Copeland
          Senior Member
          • May 2000
          • 1354
          • 4.2.5

          #5
          The strike-thru is already working, so I think it is just a matter of linking it to the quick reply rather than installing more plug-ins

          What is the bracket code for strikethrough? In my Advanced Edit box, the strike is set us as:

          PHP Code:
          [s]Strike-Thru[/s
          But I need to know what the bracket code would be for executing this feature.

          Here are some examples of other bracket codes:

          PHP Code:
          [imgdir_editor

          DAVID COPELAND
          Licensed VB Holder Since 2000
          Celebrating 22 Years with VB

          Comment

          • Jose Amaral Rego
            Senior Member
            • Feb 2005
            • 11058
            • 1.1.x

            #6
            Example: When you create a custom profile field, you have it define as field=x. Now, in custom bbcode it can not distinguish which you want to appear or not and you can not just edit template with that code without it know what to do. All it sees is an image, but can not pull from files to do action. It has not been written into code and only can use what you have added to custom area, but it will not show just one of them.

            Comment

            widgetinstance 262 (Related Topics) skipped due to lack of content & hide_module_if_empty option.
            Working...