X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • richpal
    • Aug 2006
    • 3.6.x

Google adsense section targeting in vBulletin

I received this reply back from Google adsense support as to how to more accurately display the google banner ads...

My question is...Where do I place these tags [Highlighted in red] in the vBulletin code in order for the adsense ads to reflect the content of the posts being made?

Bear in mind I'm no rocket scientist with vBulletin coding, so simple steps as to where to look would be good
    ----------------------------------------------------------
    What is section targeting and how do I implement it?
    Section targeting allows you to suggest sections of your text and HTML content that you'd like us to emphasize or downplay when matching ads to your site's content. By providing us with your suggestions, you can assist us in improving your ad targeting. We recommend that only those familiar with HTML attempt to implement section targeting.
    To implement section targeting, you'll need to add a set of special HTML comment tags to your code. These tags will mark the beginning and end of whichever section(s) you'd like to emphasize or de-emphasize for ad targeting.
    The HTML tags to emphasize a page section take the following format:

<!-- google_ad_section_start -->

<!-- google_ad_section_end -->

You can also designate sections you'd like to have ignored by adding a (weight=ignore) to the starting tag:
    <!-- google_ad_section_start(weight=ignore) -->

With these tags added to your HTML code, your final code may look like the following:
    <html><head><title>Section targeting</title></head>
    <body>
    <!-- google_ad_section_start -->

This is the text of your web page. Most of your content resides here.
    <!-- google_ad_section_end -->
    </body>
    </html>