Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• [Forum] Creating BBCode for iFrame

Hello,

I'm new to managing a vBulletin (4.1.x) forum, so bear with me. I've tried to search the forums, but haven't found exactly what I need.

What I'd like to do is create a custom BB code to allow my users to input an iFrame for Microsoft Office WebApps. I'd rather not turn on HTML by default though.

An example of a WebApp iFrame is:
    Code:
    <iframe src="http://r.office.microsoft.com/r/rlidExcelEmbed?su=-8493146133887032856&Fi=SD8A224897002E61E8!260&AllowInteractivity=False" width="402" height="346" frameborder="0" scrolling="no"></iframe>
    Ideally, I'd like the users to copy in the src portion only. Is this an easy thing to do? I guess my concern here is that I don't want users to be able to hack the site via inserting a non-microsoft iFrame.

I'm curious as to thoughts and guidance here.

Thanks!
    Ken Puls, CMA, MS MVP (Excel)
    Excelguru.ca

You won't be able to limit it to Microsoft sites without some custom coding. We cannot officially support code modifications or forums running modified code, however you can try searching or asking for help with this over at www.vbulletin.org.

Vote to have Javascript refactored in vB5

Comment

Thanks Trevor. I figured that would probably be the answer, but had to ask.
      Excelguru.ca

Comment

I don't see why it would need "custom coding" - BB Codes are a default part of vBulletin.

You are very right to not want your users to be able to enter an arbitrary URL for an iframe, it's a major security concern.

You would make an BB Code with a replacement something like:

Code:
        <iframe src="http://r.office.microsoft.com/r/rlidExcelEmbed?su=-{param}&AllowInteractivity=False" width="402" height="346" frameborder="0" scrolling="no"></iframe>
        And they would enter something like:

[webapp]8493146133887032856&Fi=SD8A224897002E61E8!260[/webapp]

As the bb code on in a post.