Can I buy a secondhand vBulletin license?

Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
    • May 2005

Can I buy a secondhand vBulletin license?

Hi all,

I'm new to this and I'm thinking about buying VB to start my own chat forum.

I'm low on cash atm and noticed some members on another site selling their VB Owned licenses that they bought from someone else. I think they have something like 4 months of updates left on them.

If I bought this license can I use it the same as if I bought it directly from VB?
  • Floris
    • Dec 2001

We strongly recommend against buying secondhand because of the risks involved.

You buy it from someone you don't know, who has no trust with you, and who can tell you any story you want to hear to make the sale. Even when a license gets transferred to you - the user of the credit card for example who made a purchase, could charge it back. You end up giving money to a stranger who suddenly becomes hard to contact, and you end up with Jelsoft revoking the license because we did not receive the money for it, and a DMCA notification from us to stop using the live instance (or to buy a new license).

There are various risks involved, something you should be very aware of.

Also note, we have a policy. Our EULA stipulates that someone can not transfer a license to another party (sell it) without the written permission from Jelsoft. This means: The owner of the license has to contact us, then we review if the license is eligible (see more info about this below) and then we have to verify the owner is who he says it is. Then we contact the new party - inform them of the risk and ask them to respond they wish to continue - after which we transfer the license.

Eligibility.

A license has to be eligible.