PDA

View Full Version : Please help, Admin only!



Iwantvb
Tue 26th May '09, 3:51pm
Hello, I'm an active user on another site, and the Admin hasn't logged in for a while, and their is a good amount of spam stacking up, but this isn't the point. A user on the forum, ChristoPad, claims to be an Admin/Offical Worker of VBulletin.

And he claims that the forums, since all of the spam is building up because of In-active staff, he will close the forums in 7 Days. And I would actually like a "real" admin to confirm of this, and to confirm if ChristoPad is actually a worker here at Jelsoft.

Thanks! And the forum he said that will be closing in 7 Days, by a Package of some sort, the forum link is: RSForums.com - And the "worker" of VBulletin is ChristoPad, and please confirm the following things:

ChristoPad is a real worker of VBulletin
The forum will close down in 7 days because of spam

Steve Machol
Tue 26th May '09, 3:53pm
There is no one on the vB staff with that name. Sounds like someone is just trying to scare you.

Iwantvb
Tue 26th May '09, 3:54pm
But did any of the Admins here at VBulletin get a report saying RSForums.com will close in about a week unless the owner gets on?

Steve Machol
Tue 26th May '09, 3:55pm
If that site has a valid license then it has nothing to worry about from us.

Iwantvb
Tue 26th May '09, 3:57pm
Alright, so in spare time, can you ask any of the admins you know or just any of the admins, if they have register as ChristoPad on their? Thanks.

Nick
Tue 26th May '09, 3:59pm
Alright, so in spare time, can you ask any of the admins you know or just any of the admins, if they have register as ChristoPad on their? Thanks.
Sounds like some sort of immature scheme that I'm sure the Jelsoft/IB staff do not want to get involved in. ;)

Iwantvb
Tue 26th May '09, 4:01pm
Sounds like some sort of immature scheme that I'm sure the Jelsoft/IB staff do not want to get involved in. ;)

What do you mean?

Steve Machol
Tue 26th May '09, 4:15pm
At this point you will need to discuss this with the webmaster for that site of you can find him. There is nothing we can do.

hitmancode47
Tue 26th May '09, 5:15pm
I doubt a vBulletin staff member would come on with a name like that and threaten to close down the boards.

If anything it would be shut down in the background, with nobody notified (Apart from the site owner/administrator) and dealt in a private communicated manner.

deuterium
Tue 26th May '09, 5:19pm
I doubt a vBulletin staff member would come on with a name like that and threaten to close down the boards.

If anything it would be shut down in the background, with nobody notified (Apart from the site owner/administrator) and dealt in a private communicated manner.

Additionally, vBulletin staff, never usually get involved directly, as it is either someone from Piracy Reports for Piracy, or someone from IB if there's a legal issue.

cheat-master30
Tue 26th May '09, 6:27pm
I'd just ignore (and probably from what I've seen on said forum, ban) this ChristoPad troll. There's, as said no legitimate vBulletin staff member, this is not a reason Internet Brands or Pirate Reports would get involved in my opinion, etc.

Note: Funny enough, I read his posts. Three quarters of it is direct copy from the vBulletin license agreement, that can't be legal to repost in it's entirety, can it?

Edit: I don't think [christo] @ vBulletin.com is a real email address, is it?

deuterium
Tue 26th May '09, 6:36pm
I'd just ignore (and probably from what I've seen on said forum, ban) this ChristoPad troll. There's, as said no legitimate vBulletin staff member, this is not a reason Internet Brands or Pirate Reports would get involved in my opinion, etc.

Note: Funny enough, I read his posts. Three quarters of it is direct copy from the vBulletin license agreement, that can't be legal to repost in it's entirety, can it?

Edit: I don't think [christo] @ vBulletin.com is a real email address, is it?

Seeing as IB follow emails as:

firstname.surname[at]internetbrands[doot]com, I can only image that vB only uses firstname.surname[at]vbulletin[doot]com

Floris
Wed 27th May '09, 12:12am
Seeing how my name is Floris Jan Maurits Fiedeldij Dop .. You can imagine I had floris at vbcom :) Instead of floris.jan.maurits.fiedeldij.dop at vbulletin.com

Paul M
Wed 27th May '09, 7:50am
Someone is winding you up, just ignore them.

SNN
Wed 27th May '09, 9:17am
I've had someone of this related status come to my site and say I was using copyrighted images, which were not properly given credit to for using. They were custom images...

People just like to "pull your leg" and try to get you to do things, or scare you straight off.

Dilly
Wed 27th May '09, 11:02am
Yeah OT again - "Fiedeldij Dop" is pronounced "Fiddildy Dop"? I've always been curious.

hitmancode47
Wed 27th May '09, 11:45am
Seeing how my name is Floris Jan Maurits Fiedeldij Dop

Floris

How do you pronounce the "Fiedeldij" part of your name?

Thanks

Nick
Wed 27th May '09, 5:48pm
Floris

How do you pronounce the "Fiedeldij" part of your name?

Thanks
I always think of it as "fee-dell-dij" (said really fast - or, "fetal-dij"). I'm probably way off. :p

Floris
Thu 28th May '09, 6:27am
Well, seeing how much we've gone off topic here and how much interested there is in how to pronounce my name, not to mention... giving everybody a laugh probably:

http://wetalk.tv/myname.mp3

for teh lulz

andrewtbest
Thu 28th May '09, 6:35am
I've had them before, presumably they have nothing more interesting to do with their time.

So. You scare them back! Threaten legal action for causing a nuisance, report them to their ISP (you have their IP address after all) and whatever else you can do to trap them.

We even had someone who "died" just after we caught them! We got letters, a copy of their eulogy and an invite to their funeral. After seeing them again in town, I learnt my lesson about how far some people will go. I think it was just a lonely old man with delusions of grandeur.

hitmancode47
Thu 28th May '09, 10:47am
Well, seeing how much we've gone off topic here and how much interested there is in how to pronounce my name, not to mention... giving everybody a laugh probably:

http://wetalk.tv/myname.mp3

for teh lulz

Ah, nice!

Sounds like pronouciation of "Fieldday" lol

deuterium
Thu 28th May '09, 5:34pm
Ah, nice!

Sounds like pronouciation of "Fieldday" lol

Thanks Floris :D. Thats just field day, but feedal-day

schwab2clarkson
Thu 28th May '09, 8:38pm
Finding this thread a crack up. :D

If anyone comes on to your site and makes up some rubbish about you using copyright images ban them.
If they continue on with it behind the scenes dob them into the internet police. Google them up. They will catch the buggers out.

FreshFroot_
Fri 29th May '09, 5:12am
nice name.. you lost me after the first slur!! :p