PDA

View Full Version : Frauded $ 2,000 by an hosting site


julius
Thu 17th Aug '00, 9:01am
The problem is that I was frauded by the hosting site http://www.pagecreators.net.
I had a contract with 200 Mb of space and 5 GB of monthly Bandwith Transfer.
My site was under construction and I only had transferred via ftp some html pages (less then 10 Mb in total).

They charged my credit card with the amount of $ 2,000.00 saying in more emails:

- Your account shows 2000k overages sustained for more than 24 hours, see contract at http://pagecreators.net/contract
- We currently show a usage of 2Mbps of data transfer for your account
- you used 2000K sustained at $1 each.

This is the contract:
“Bandwidth will go unmonitored until you reach 12GB per month. Thereafter, normal data transfer cost of $1 per 1Kbps sustained for more than 24 hours will be billed to your account for excessive bandwidth users”.

In response to my protest he terminated my account that I’ve already payed for a year, so I can’t even access to my data.

I’ve made a complaint to my credit card company and to the Internet Fraud Compalin Center - https://www.ifccfbi.gov – but I’m still waiting.

Can please anybody give me some suggestions?

Thank you

Brian
Thu 17th Aug '00, 11:08am
From what you said this host seems rather shady and like a scam. If they will not cooperate with you I would contact your credit card company and inform them and have them issue a charge back, as well as refuse future charges.

-Brian

[Edited by Brian on 08-17-2000 at 11:11 AM]

Martie
Fri 18th Aug '00, 12:00pm
Just as an fyi for you, as I have no experience with this co. at all, but have seen several reviews and posts, that you might want to look into. They all seem to be similar.

http://www.hostsearch.com/showcomment.asp?Companycode=850

http://www.webhostingtalk.com/ubb/Forum1/HTML/000507.html

David Copeland
Tue 29th Aug '00, 8:42pm
1) What was the date of the credit card charge?

2) Did you physically sign the charge slip, or
simply provide them with the card and expiration
number?

(You may be able to receive an immediate credit
of the full $2000.)

David

WildWayz
Wed 13th Sep '00, 11:32am
Hi ya

Hmmmm - I have heard many bad things about Pagecreators - I use to have an account with them, but cancelled it withing a week (which they DID refund).

I have, however, had frued committed with vikmar.com .
Someguy who worked there (I am 100% certain it was someone who worked there) set up a vikmar.com email address, and a fake name with PayPal.com.
When I signed up, they got both my credit card numbers (because they emailed me back saying one had bounced when I had money on it).
Anyway, I checked my statement on the phone of one of my cards, and £350 had been taken out.
THen I checked the other card and £350 had been taken out too.
Now this hosting was about $13 or £8 so u can imagine I was fuming.

Anyway, I tracked it down to
chase@vikmar.com and Vikmar claimed it wasn't someone who worked for them.

The admin then emailed me saying "I can set you up with your own server for the $13 you are paying, so you can admin it yourself".

I got the server, and cancelled the account BUT I still have the server!
Sooooo I reckon the admin was the dodgy one, as he never replies to emails now :)

I got my money back, and a server :)

--WildWayz

lawnsite
Sat 11th Nov '00, 2:27am
pagecreators.net got me for $5,000

Very similar to what happened to you. My sites hosted with them were all under construction and
not yet available to the public.

xfliu
Tue 26th Dec '00, 3:39pm
I have signed up its service for 3 months, and was charged by $6740. My site was not even set up yet, and
was charged for very heavy traffic usage (over 6m bps) for more than 24 hours. I did a complete research on this
company and have written a web site dedicated to
victims of this company. For more detailed information about
my story, please visit my site at http://www.geocities.com/HostingMonitor. Wired (http://www.wired.com) has published a story
(http://www.wired.com/news/technology/0,1282,40673,00.html) about this company recently. You are not
alone.

[Edited by xfliu on 12-26-2000 at 03:41 PM]

damicatz
Sun 18th Feb '01, 9:42am
It looks like they have been shut down now.


Page Creators has ceased to operate.

WE RECOMMEND THIS HOST. (http://www.trinityhost.com)

lawnsite
Sun 6th May '01, 1:32am
HOW THE HELL COULD YOU RECOMMEND THE HOST ( TRINITYHOST.COM ) THAT YOU ARE RECOMMENDING DAMICATZ?

That host was spawned from pagecreators.net after they started to crumble! Brian over at pagecreators went down hard... I got my money back and the city of Michigan ( I think thats the city) has an injunction against them. It was all over hotwire and internet news.

tubedogg
Sun 6th May '01, 2:31am
First, this thread is like 3 months old. Second, if you notice the quote blocks around those words, damicatz is merely quoting what Page Creators had on their site when they shut down. He is not recommending that host...

lawnsite
Sun 6th May '01, 2:36am
Yea, its 3 months old but it just got resolved in the past month...

BTW.. you have a very long sig. :)

Anyways... I got my money back, WHEW